We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar SAndro

Bar SAndro
Kolmas linja 17, Helsinki, Finland
358-9-428-92317
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 1,012 Restaurants in Helsinki
Cuisines: Moroccan
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Amazing Food Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

The place doesn't look like much from the outside, but the food is simply amazing. This is not a fine dining experience, but if you want to hang out with friends, this is a perfect place. The Moroccan-style food is very tasty and skillfully made with fresh ingredients. Good options for vegetarians are also available.

There is a possibility to come for dinner and stay for drinks long into the night. I have tried both dinner and lunch and they were both great experiences. The place tends to be very popular (for a good reason), so reservations are recommended or alternatively come early.

My only complaint is that the music is a bit too loud during dinner, so along with the chatter of others it makes talking a little difficult.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    30
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Great food, service and atmosphere. Came with relative who has visited restaurant before and recomented this one. Table reservation is recomended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The only disadvantage was that it was super delicious and we kept on eating and eating and eating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We came here for brunch. The place was fully packed so I would recommend booking a table in advance. If you want to have a brunch there, you got to pay a fixed price and then you can have anything you want from a huge variety of dishes. Glass of sparkling wine is also included. You also get smoothies, juice, coffee, tea. Food was really delicious. The sweet table was so amazing as well. They also had different cheeses there. I really recommend this place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious African”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The place was rather modest looking, but interior was cozy and real African style, I think. Waitress were very friendly and real professionals. They spent lots of time with customers telling about their food and drink selection. I ordered Harissa Bang Bang which was a real joy of tastes. It included halal sausages, olives, salad, hummus, youghurt and bread. Very good and big enough but not too heavy. My son took duck hamburger and was very satisfied also.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good place for lunch, also for vegetarians”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Very good mediterranean/Egyptian-type food. Huge salad-bar and excellent soup available for lunch. Great for vgetarians. The food is tasty and spicy, but not spicy-hot. Very good value. I have had lunch there three times and all have been good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar SAndro also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Bar SAndro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar SAndro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.