We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful choice when visiting Helsinki” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SATO Hotel Home

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added SATO Hotel Home to your Saves list
SATO Hotel Home
Lapinlahdenkatu 8, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A wonderful choice when visiting Helsinki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is a great place to stay when visiting Helsinki. It's in city centre and close to everything you will ever need for your visit to Finland's capital.

So, here's my review about the...:

ROOMS/APARTMENT: We have booked a 4 person apartment, with large bedroom (2 beds, one is hidden inside a closet), kitchen, living room and bathroom (1 1/2). In the apartment you will find everything you need for your immediate needs - dishwasher, toaster, stove, microwave oven, oven, cutlery (in the kitchen), washing machine, linen, towels, and other supplies (bedroom and bathroom), etc.

CLEANLINESS: Super clean (kitchen and bathrooms spotless). Nothing to say about the cleanliness of the linen and the towels, as they were white clean

STAFF: We haven't met anyone in person, but we have exchanged some messages by email about the booking and arrangements. Super friendly and everything was in order when we arrived at the location, and also every worked out exactly the way we were told.

EATING: In this case, you will be on your own. It's an apartment. So, if you don't want to spend a lot of money at the local restaurants (as Helsinki's not cheap for portuguese standards), you should go the local supermarkets to buy food. There's the alternative of buying out and take it home :)

LOCATION: It's in the city centre, close to everything. The mostly known attraction of the city is likely to be Helsinki's Cathedral, and the apartment is as far as a 5 minute walk there.
It's also close to various supermarkets and transportation.

OVERALL: Excellent!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    31
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
20
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Sato Hotel home in Lapinlahdenkatu 8 is a condo with several small apartment in the center of Helsinki downtown. The bright side of the stay is the price. 100€ per night is unbeatable in the center of helsinki. We stayed for 2 night. High floor is most enjoyable both for the panorama and the natural light. Studios are really small but amazingly well furnished and studied for short stays. Dishes, glasses, fork and knives, spoons, pans, toilet towel and bed linen, tv, iPod stereo system (bring your own iPod) fridge, coffee machine, kettle, iron, oven and even a small dishwasher. You can really find everything you need in the house. remember to bring out garbage and to deliver it to the dump room in the basement of the building. Saunas have shift for man and women and are at the ground floor.
Exellent position for a cheap and cozy apartment if you want to visit the magic city of Helsinki.

Room Tip: high floor room give you a better view and a quieter night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

This apartment has no reception, you get a PIN code to enter the apartment. That means you are left alone without any service whatsoever. Upon entering the room a very strong curry smell immediately hit me. Obviously a significant shortcoming of house keeping, even airing the room didn't help much. Making it worse the bathroom had a very strong drainage smell. Overall the state of the apartment was totally unacceptable. The parking outside the apartment is very limited and you're left with either walking far or standing the risk of getting a parking ticket. If you only overstay the check-out time by 5-10mins you will find yourself automatically locked out, with no way to enter the apartment, ridiculous. Overall this apartment is not recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I stayed for 2 nights at Kristianinkatu and the overall experience was very positive.
Only two negative things: bed very soft, and not easy for couples to be together. And the late check in 4PM and early check out 11AM was not so funny. I arrived the city at 6AM and have to wait 10 hours without a place to rest, take a shower and throw luggage. 2PM would have been much better.
Positive: location; even not being in the most central place, it is walking distance to every touristic places. Near central train station, market, cathedrals, and so on.
Apartments had everything I needed for cooking and cleaning. And with the restaurant prices in Helsinki, being able to cook at home is a plus! The door code mechanism is great, worked and was perfect as we don't need to get a key somewhere else (no need for reception at all). The apartment is very good, spacious and cozy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Convenient. Secured building. Keyless entry. Incredibly clean. Quiet neighbors. Comfortable bed. Spacious accommodation. Fully furnished kitchen. It even had a wash machine for laundry. We stayed here for 4 nights and everything was very easy.

If I really have to nitpick, it would be nice to have some laundry detergent for use; we were traveling, so we really didn't feel like buying a box that could wash 32 loads. I ended up hand-washing our clothes in the sink, and then using the machine for rinse and spin. We did find a dishwashing tablet for the dishwasher; that was nice.

We knew that Finns have a high standard of living, and this apartment gave us a taste of it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed here for 4 weeks during the month of december. The rooms are well maintained and equipped. The website provided a list of available things in the apartment, this helped me plan the things to be carried along while travelling. The apartments are at located at a central location making them easy in terms of accessibility.
The apartments are also light-cleaned every week. A pleasant stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I staid for 4 nights at Kristianinkatu and had everything I needed for cooking, cleaning, even a dish washer in the studio flat! There is also a washing machine for use downstairs. The little welcome bag was a nice surprise. The only inconvenient thing for me was that the check in was so late (4 pm) and since there is no reception it is impossible to leave the luggage anywhere at the apartment block, unfortunately. Otherwise, it was way more convenient than staying in a hotel would have been. If you are a foreigner who wants to experience what normal Finnish city living could be like, or a Finn who wants to have the flexibility and privacy of home when away this is an excellent option. Just book early enough to get a better price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to SATO Hotel Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SATO Hotel Home

Address: Lapinlahdenkatu 8, Helsinki 00180, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your SATO Hotel Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SATO Hotel Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.