We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, but nice service.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Cafe

Hard Rock Cafe
Aleksanterinkatu 21, Helsinki 00100, Finland
+358 9 42826888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #138 of 1,012 Restaurants in Helsinki
Price range: $26 - $45
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, Hamburgers, Chicken Wings, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In the heart of Helsinki serving your favourite Hard Rock Cocktails and great food everyday of the week. The restaurant is adorned by Rock memorabilia from legendary and contemporary artists such as Kiss, John Lennon, Michael Jackson and more. Don't miss our Rock Shop!
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Expensive, but nice service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We gave it a try on our night out with friends. The place is really nice, enjoyed the music and service was really friendly, but the food is nothing special and, in my opinion, too expensive. A bottle of wine - 48 euros, it was really good though. The food - nacho plate with meat - nacho's from a bag, sauces from a can (I think the avocado dip wasn't actually, but the cheese and salsa ones were, almost 100% sure), the meat was really nice though - tender and soft.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRC_HELSINKI, Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Joonas, Thank you for your review. Here at the Hard Rock Cafe (Helsinki & abroad), we pride ourselves on our scratch based cooking techniques. We make the tortilla chips ourselves from tortillas which are sourced from local suppliers. The cheese sauce, salsa & guacamole are also made fresh in our kitchen. We would be happy to invite you to our kitchen to show you if you are interested. I am really happy that you had a good time and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    96
    64
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Expensive but good hangout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Good food burgers n pasta. Excellent range on drinks cocktails.. Good Service.. Good location.. But very very expensive

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRC_HELSINKI, Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hi Ramya. Thank you for your great review. We are always happy to hear from our fans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuusula, Finland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good service but expensive food and drinks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I visited the Hard Rock Cafe with a group of colleagues during lunch time. The tables were well organized and as we had pre-ordered the food, it arrived very quickly. Some people had ordered from the group menu and were expecting to receive some sort of appertizers with their meals but nothing was brought to them (even though it said so in the group menu) and I heard they were rather disappointed with that. We also found the drinks were quite expensive compared to other places in Helsinki and therefore decided not to stay there for longer.
The place was half empty even though it was busy lunch time, I wonder whether it had something to do with the cost of food. Also I think one gets fooled by the entrance of the Hard Rock Cafe as the t-shirt shop is located downstairs, even I thought it was a clothes shop at first until I realised there were actually stairs leading to the restaurant located upstairs.
Hard Rock Cafe is located in the heart of Helsinki and the staff was very nice and friendly and served us very quickly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRC_HELSINKI, Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Terve Minna. Thank you for taking the time to write your review on our establishment. I am happy to hear that you found our service was at a high quality that we strive for. Regarding your group reservation - I am sorry to hear that a few of your colleagues were left hungry. A majority of the pre orders were from the lunch menu. The group menu items do include appetisers but they are not served per person but as a platter to share among the group. Your guests that expected appetisers where not charged for appetisers. I apologise for any miscommunication that lead to a few guests expecting the appetisers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Average Hard Rock Cafe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Not too much to say about this particular HRC. I do not visit them that much, but the location is good, looking at the prices of some other restaurants (and even fast food) in the area, I decided to plump for HRC for a 10 oz burger at 20 Euro (well this is Finland).

Staff were excellent as (normally) always in HRC. The burger was distinctly average at best, nothing to write home about. Decor was the usual fare. I was there on a Thursday night and quite a few customers came just after 22h00 to be told the kitchen had already closed (I got there about 21h30), so do not be late if you visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRC_HELSINKI, Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hi Dave - Thank you for taking the time to write your review on our Hard Rock Cafe. Great to hear that you found our service excellent as it should be and expected but we are sad to hear that our Legendary Burger did not tantalise your tastebuds on this occasion. We hope you had a great trip to Helsinki!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Free WiFi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Overall, like any other hard rock cafe the decor is great and ther prices are quite expensive.
That said, the beer is always good and there's free wifi and it's quite fast.
Staff are extremely helpful and welcoming for tourists.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRC_HELSINKI, Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hi Omer! Thank you for your great review! We do indeed have free fast WiFi. Tourists are very welcome to drop by the Hard Rock for a coffee/cocktail and check in on goings on back at home via their smart phones or laptops/tablets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hard Rock Cafe also viewed

 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Hard Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.