We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hostel in Helsinki's downtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kongressikoti Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kongressikoti Hostel to your Saves list
Kongressikoti Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Snellmaninkatu 15 A, 5th floor, Helsinki 00170 , Finland (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“excellent hostel in Helsinki's downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I spent a night there at the end of June 2014, on a flight change. That was the cheapest place in downtown I could find by Booking.com, and it did not disillusion me. The hostel is actually a half-floor on the fifth floor of an art-deco building just behind the Cathedral. The elevator is beautifully restored original piece. The hardest thing was to find the front door, as there is no big sign outside; you should look up the tenants' list at the central entrance. The ladies who run it are very friendly and speak good English. While I stayed only one night, I noticed that it is well-equipped for longer stays, better, them many hostels I saw. Beautiful panorama over Helsinki's roofs; 5 minutes walk to the Cathedral square and boulevards; 10 minutes walk to the Central stations (from where airport bus is running). Buy a 24 public transportation pass, public bus is same good as the Airport Shuttle.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    13
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
6
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

This hostel is located within walking distance to most of the main places (harbour, market, restaurants and shops). The building is very old and the interior could do with some work however it was very clean and was very well equipped (hair dryer, ironing board, fridge in the room).
We booked a double room however were assigned to one with twin beds, the layout of the room made it impossible to join the beds as it was long and narrow.
Freshly brewed coffee and cookies were available every morning and we could use the kitchen whenever we needed it.
The karaoke bar downstairs was a bit noisy on our last night but the other two nights it was fairly quiet. To summarise I'd say that for what it costs it is a good value.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

It's located just behind senate square and the cathedral..a 5-10 min walk from the train station (with bags). The location is ideal and you can be at the harbour in 5 mins too. Very clean place but the building itself is run down due to it's age.
Bed were a little rickety which didn't make for a great sleep but you do get what you pay for. In a nutshell a fair place for a fair price in a great location. Also has good amenities for self catering.....oven,hob, toaster, kettle etc. Filter coffee already made every morning which was also gpod thanks.
Might be worth mentioning....I thought I was getting a double bed but got a twin room.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The building has much character
The rooms are simple but serve their purpose, you are only there to sleep and clean up.
There is a full kitchen where you can prepare your own meals.
The location of this hostel is quite ideal, it's enough away from the city centre to have quiet rooms but still close enough to have a short walk from central station and all other means of public transportation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Harjumaa, Estonia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Located in the very heart of the Helsinki center on the fifth floor, it has a nice vintage feel, spotlessly clean rooms, friendly staff and delicious coffee in the mornings. The elevator looks fantastic! Rooms are quiet at night, despite the fact the hostel is in the very city center. You can walk to the hotel from the Helsinki Länsisatama port, no need to take a taxi or pay for public transport.Thanks you for a pleasant stay! Мы с удовольствием остановимся у вас еще!

Room Tip: Our windows faces the courtyard, it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Friendly staff, good facilities and very reasonable price - excellent for friends looking for a cheap stay. It was very clean, close to the centre of Helsinki and the staff made us feel very welcome. We stayed for five nights and they offered new towels/bed sheets everyday if we needed it. They also offer a good bike rental service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for one night before travelling further. It is very clean and the rooms are very nice. It is on the fifth floor in a quite old house, but that's no problem, there is a lift. The restroom and the shower are outside the room, both clean. In the morning you get a free coffee or tea and some cookies. It is located in the center, you can walk to the dome in about five minutes. Great stay!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Kongressikoti Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kongressikoti Hostel

Address: Snellmaninkatu 15 A, 5th floor, Helsinki 00170 , Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kongressikoti Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Kongressikoti Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kongressikoti Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.