We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A funky way to enjoy simple pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Putte's Bar & Pizza

Putte's Bar & Pizza
Kalevankatu 6 | 00100, Helsinki, Finland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #166 of 929 restaurants in Helsinki
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A funky way to enjoy simple pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My friend and I tried Putte's after I saw it advertised for an event in it's basement. The location is superb, just off Mannerheimintie (main street of town). Walking in, the ambiance was good with low lighting, simple furnishings and a nice buzz from the patrons (it was almost full). We got a table and sat down before we were told we had to order at the bar. This was a bit disappointing but I guess it's because counter-service is the in thing right now and this place clearly wants to be in the edge. We each had the margherita, I coupled it with a Peroni (perfect for pizza and hard to find in HKI!) and my partner had a wine. The food came and we dug in and it was excellent. The taste of the pizza, while simple, was delicious. I didn't stop eating until the whole thing was gone. The prices are up on the expensive side, but the place is not your local kebab joint dishing out sloppy fast food.It's a nice place to eat great pizza and we'll be back, also to check out the bar downstairs.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    9
    19
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Okay pizza, nice place but unfriendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Pizza tasted good! You have to order your drinks and food at the bar. Nice atmosphere but we thought the staff isn't that friendly.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pizzalissimo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I've been here a couple of times and wish the limited choice menu would change more often. Having said that, I've enjoyed both the pizzas and the salads of Putte's. The place can get rather noisy when full and attention should be paid to noise control and acoustics. Wish there was table service for diners.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rethymnon, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

REally good place for pizza in Helsinki. It was really tasty. I am not a pizza expert but I liked it. If i go again in Helsinki I would go there again. I do not remember exactly the prices but I think it was normal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Finally real pizza in Helsinki!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We have tried many pizzerias here since our arrival from Italy some months ago and it has pretty much always ended up a disappointment. Having said that, this place gave us a positive suprise. The pizza was thin, crispy and tasty- in sharp contrast to the mushy, cake-like versions that we encountered so far. The menu is a short one, there are I believe only 5 pizzas to choose from. We had the classic Margherita (mozzarella+tomato+basil) and a Quattro Formaggi which both proved to be delicious. I wish there had been more choices available like, maybe, with prosciutto crudo, sausages and funghi or the alike, but maybe thats pushing it. Next time I will go for the salami pizza. Besides the pizza, there were only salads, maybe the menu could be somewhat enlarged to add choices. The place itself, is trendy and there really is not waiter to take your order, just walk up to the counter and place your order, and while there grab your silverware-

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Putte's Bar & Pizza also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Putte's Bar & Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Putte's Bar & Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.