We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sushi with lovely staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rice Garden

Rice Garden
Siltasaarenkatu 12 | 00530, Helsinki, Finland
Improve this listing
Ranked #291 of 1,016 Restaurants in Helsinki
Cuisines: Sushi
Description: it's at foursquare.
Restaurant details
Description: it's at foursquare.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good sushi with lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is the best sushi place, easy to go to, friendly staff, affordable prices - especially the perfect lunch deal! Highly recommend to all sushi lovers =O)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice place, worth the buck.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The old japanese lady working the dining room was really charming. The sushi was fresh and the decor crisp and clean and it was not overly priced either. The place was surprisingly empty on a tuesday evening and we found ample parking below the Casino right next door, convenient. Nice place, worth the buck.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
omaha
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good and inexpensive sushi place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our group had lunch there during a recent visit to Helsinki. The sushi was good, but not excellent, and the soup was a bit salty. Reasonably priced and the place has a good feel to it. I would give another shot if I visit Helsinki and I was in the area, but probably won't enthusiastically recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Worst service in town!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The sushi was not too bad but the service left a very bad taste in our mouths. It was about 2pm on a Saturday and the restaurant was quite empty. We ordered a vegetarian plate plus an extra dish amounting to 15 Euros. The man who took our order said "Is that all?" with some disgust. We replied "yes" and he said "that order is so small!" We said we only wanted a small snack. He then aksed if we wanted to buy a beer and we said no and he shook his head and started muttering in Chinese. Anyways, the order was not that small actually and was quite enough for two people, and it was not like we were taking up seats in a busy restaurant. There were only two other customers at the time. the worst part was the rude man who took our order, came by and dropped our food on the table and then brought us the half used water from the table beside us after those previous customers had left. How rude! Don't go there. VERY RUDE AND POOR SERVICE.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“An average lunch sushi place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Nice sushi for lunch or if your are otherwise in a hurry. Restaurant it self is rather modest place and the surrounding neighborhood is, hmm, interesting. Sushi was not bad but not anything above average either, so I guess you might think again before heading there?

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rice Garden also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Rice Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rice Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.