We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in city center, close to train, bus services.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elielinaukio 5, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #18 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Denver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in city center, close to train, bus services.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

Nice hotel for a Holiday inn!, we booked with Mileage points. We got upgraded to an executive room!
This hotel has a nice Sauna. Only disappointment was that they forgot to swap our used wine glasses after the second night. We stayed 4 nights.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    217
    75
    17
    1
See reviews for
43
122
72
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

Stayed one night after arriving in Helsinki on a late train. Although it was a Saturday night, our 5th floor room facing the bus station was quiet. We had planned to visit a few museums (Hakasalmi Villa and National Museum) and were glad they were only a short walk away given the cold weather. We chose the pre-paid payment option which made the price a great value. The room itself was small but clean and had a bathroom with a heated floor. The front desk was friendly and let us to store our luggage for the day for free. One negative was the lack of Wifi. They had a cable in the room for internet access but we could not use it with our iPad. We did not try the hotel breakfast but opted for one of the cafes in Tennispalatsi.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

We visited holiday inn in helsinki a few days ago.this is a great hotel,large rooms,very clean,friendly staff,and a smokers room next to the reception with human conditions in it.Unfortunately i must report that one day our tour guide asked for wake up call so we would all leave the hotel on time.When t.v in our room switched on for our wake up call the sound was so loud that i still cant believe how we survived the heart attack!It might look funny but it took me 20 minutes to relax,we were sleeping before that,and i find it unacceptable for a hotel like that something like this to happen.So make sure you dont ask for wake up call when you visit...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

Last year my spouse had business travel to Finland. Booking was done Holiday Inn hotel. The service of this hotel was simply best. Internet connection with 2MBPS speed as well awsome food. I would recommend to prefer this hotel as its real value for money, though a bit expensive.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

Location of Holiday Inn City Centre is great for visiting Helsinki downtown as well as access to trains. The hotel itself is though too basic, nothing extra, especially the bathrooms are below the average (clean but too basic). The price is a bit less than some other downtown hotels, but for a little more you can get a nicer room.
I would stay here again only for the location.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

nothing special at all but also no hidden surprises. on the upside it is clean and the restaurant is ok. the breakfast looked better than it tasted and the beds slept as bad as they looked like (two adjacent beds, and both too small for a decent sleep). also had some issues to connect to the internet and when I called the 24 hours service line I was put on hold forever and then I gave up. anyway, one can log on to a wireless network of the neighbors. anyway, as I mentioned nothing special to stay in and therefore just avoid it unless you have to; there must be nicer places to spend your money

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nawabofdelhi1
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Just completed an extended stay of 24 room nights last month. Was in fact the 8th or 9th time I have stayed at this hotel in the last 5 years. For the first time visitors I can not recommend this Hotel highly enough, it is with out doubt the most centrally located hotel in Helsinki, built right on top of the central railway station. Getting here from the Airport is a breeze, just take the Fin Air bus or the normal bus number 615T and they drop you off with in few metres of this hotel all within max 6 Euro's.
The rooms are typical Holiday Inn standard with a decent size, flat screen TV's plus Kettle & an assortment of ready to make Tea & Coffee options. Beds extremely comfortable with a choice of pillows from a pillow menu. Bathrooms again acceptably roomy & functional. From the hotel all the major land marks, commercial high street, bars & restaurants & the docks are a few minutes walk. Free internet on the LAN in rooms, while one can get WLAN coupons from the reception.
Now the drawbacks, the hotel needs to recruit more personnel, the staff to guest ratio is disproportionately low. This shows up rather badly at the reception, where more often than not there is only one person around to tend to calls, guests check in's & sundry duties. I myself spent 15 minutes in a smallish queue prior to checking in. This lack of adequate staffing also shows up in the restaurant during the breakfast hour when the place is packed. It takes them simply too long to replenish the cutlery & food & beverages once it runs out, thus hampering what should be an enjoyable meal. Also on the subject of breakfast, the breakfast menu hasn’t been changed in ages & could include a few more options.
Other than that should you snag a standard room here at around the € 85 mark with breakfast thrown in, I think one would have got a good deal for this city.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Address: Elielinaukio 5, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#17 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel and you will find yourself in the middle of all the business, excitement and entertainment of Helsinki City. This modern hotel lies in the heart of Helsinki next to the main Railway Station joining modern and historical architecture together conveniently. Holiday Inn offers perfect facilities for business and leisure travellers. The hotel offers comfortable rooms. Staying with us you will be able to enjoy the good quality and core services of Holiday Inn. The hotel contains state-of-the-art rooms including comfortable amenities, high-speed internet access, Business Center and WIFI wireless internet hot-spot. For relaxing there is a Finnish Sauna and Minigym. For wining and dining you can choose Restaurant Verde. Stepping outside of the hotel, there is a large selection of sights, shops, restaurants, museums and places of interest just in the neighbourhood. Stockmann department store, Market Square, Helsinki Music Centre, Finlandia Hall, Kiasma and Ateneum Art Museum just to name a few. If you are planning to visit other cities and regions nearby, you will find public transportation, local buses, trains and even metro in the immediate neighbourhood of the hotel. Or perhaps you would choose the tram to take you on a short sightseeing tour.Whether travelling on business or leisure, welcome to enjoy the Finnish hospitality at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.