We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for an ideal place to stay in Helsinki - Look no further” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elielinaukio 5, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Looking for an ideal place to stay in Helsinki - Look no further”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

If you want a central city centre hotel in Helsinki that is near the main railway station, which has a good restaurant for both breakfast and an evening meal, that has good food and local beer, the hotel is clean, the rooms are nice, the staff very polite and helpful and is not too expensive (for a Nordic capital city) then the Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre is ideal.

Although I was travelling solo, on this occasion, I can also say it would appeal to my wife, and be perfectly suitable for business or leisure.

I chose it because I had a number of early starts and late finishes, travelling around Finland by train. So I wanted a hotel, near the station, so as to avoid a bus / tram or lengthy walk at unsociable hours. This hotel is next door to the main railway station, next to the suburban platforms (Platform 19, on the western side of the station). As the airport bus, Bus 615, sets down / picks up on the eastern side of the main railway station in Helsinki, it is also very handy for a tired traveller towing a suitcase after a long flight.

I used the evening restaurant on a couple of nights, and I can recommend the roast reindeer and local beer.

The room (# 614 on the 6th floor) was clean and comfortable with a large double bed, and good bathroom with a shower.

There was not much traffic noise despite its central location.

The staff were welcoming, polite and very helpful.

The hotel is fairly inexpensive compared to similar central hotels in this capital city.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 6th floor. But others, I am sure would be equally fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    254
    87
    20
    2
See reviews for
50
144
87
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Holiday Inn City Centre is perfectly located for visit to Helsinki. Just next to the city train terminal, it is well connected to the airport by Finnair Shuttle (EURO 6.50 per trip ) which stops at its front and city bus No .615 (EURO 5 per trip) which stops on the other side of the train terminal. It is also well served by city trams and buses to all major sights of the city, and a large supermarket is in the next block to provide everyday needs to the extent that you don't really have to go for the hotel breakfast..

Guest rooms, though on the small side compared to other hotels in this category, are well appointed to meet basic needs and kept clean and tidy everyday.

Front house service is efficient and courteous. We arrived early in the morning and were assigned our room well ahead of the scheduled time, which was well appreciated. Reception staff also gave good advice in respect of travels, restaurant guides and use of the free internet service (which was highly efficient too).

All in all, we enjoyed very much our stay and would highly recommend it to all those looking for convenience and comfort rather than luxury in travels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the city square rather than the train terminal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French Lick, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This hotel was in the perfect location, but that is as good as it got for us. There was not much wrong with this place. However, we felt the place was boring and uninspired and we felt we were paying more than we should. The place is well kept and clean. The staff are helpful as well.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Draman K,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you liked the fine location of our hotel in the area. However, we're sorry you were not able to fully enjoy your stay with us. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Hotel is perfectly located - just a few mintes from the city center. Cleanliness in the Hotel is brilliant, rooms are very comfortable and well equipped. Even though the Hotel is directly next to the rail and bus stations, rooms are really quiet. We did not meet a lot of staff indeed but during the check-in and check-out they were friendly and smiling. My best recommendations to this Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Taxis being expensive in Finland, you can save a lot of money if you are coming from the airport by taking the Finnair bus that stops right in front of this hotel (last stop at the railway station). The bus costs €6,30 and you can pay the driver even with a credit card. Another bus 615 from the airport costs €5, it takes a bit longer and takes you to another side of the railway station.

Rooms are clean but tiny. WiFi service is the worst I have had in Helsinki, really slow speed and annoying sign up process. Most of the time breakfast is extra €€ thus you can get better value from other hotels in this area, such as Radisson Plaza on the other side of the station or Sokos Vaakuna just in front of the station, to name few.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear mikaramram,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. I am delighted to hear that you found our rooms clean and location convenient. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the inconvenience our internet connection may have caused. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed here en route to our final destination in Finland which required us to take another 2.5 hour train from Helsinki. Since we were travelling from Asia we thought it best to just stay the night in Helsinki then take the train the next day. The hotel is literally 200m (or less depending on which entrance you use) from the Helsinki Central Train Station. It's also cloze to the main bus station. After 18 hours of travelling its location was simply perfect. The hotel is minutes away from some of the sightseeing spots in the area. There is K supermarket across the hotel as well.

The hotel staff is friendly and was very helpful in providing us tips on how to get around and look for open places (we arrived on a bank holiday weekend). Our checkin was quick and we were immediately given access cards to our room. The room was average in size but it had complete amenities. The bathroom was quite big for a european hotel and overall the room was clean. There was small LCD tv which had some english channels and lots of electrical sockets in the room to charge our phones and other gadgets.

The use of the sauna is free (its open twice a day) and although the sauna is small it was nice and very well kept. The gym is small but had a good variety of equipment.

Highly recommended from transiting travelers.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

As other reviewers have said this is a very well located hotel. Next to both rail and bus stations. It's also clean, comfortable and well equipped. Room was quiet, staff helpful.Only suggestion would be that a less expensive breakfast option is offered if not part of package. But highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Address: Elielinaukio 5, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel and you will find yourself in the middle of all the business, excitement and entertainment of Helsinki City. This modern hotel lies in the heart of Helsinki next to the main Railway Station joining modern and historical architecture together conveniently. Holiday Inn offers perfect facilities for business and leisure travellers. The hotel offers comfortable rooms. Staying with us you will be able to enjoy the good quality and core services of Holiday Inn. The hotel contains state-of-the-art rooms including comfortable amenities, high-speed internet access, Business Center and WIFI wireless internet hot-spot. For relaxing there is a Finnish Sauna and Minigym. For wining and dining you can choose Restaurant Verde. Stepping outside of the hotel, there is a large selection of sights, shops, restaurants, museums and places of interest just in the neighbourhood. Stockmann department store, Market Square, Helsinki Music Centre, Finlandia Hall, Kiasma and Ateneum Art Museum just to name a few. If you are planning to visit other cities and regions nearby, you will find public transportation, local buses, trains and even metro in the immediate neighbourhood of the hotel. Or perhaps you would choose the tram to take you on a short sightseeing tour.Whether travelling on business or leisure, welcome to enjoy the Finnish hospitality at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.