We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elielinaukio 5, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Birmingham England
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We arrived on the bus from Helsinki Airport E6.30 single. The bus stops outside the hotel at the main railway station in the centre of the city. The hotel is well placed and has good transport links with the railway and buses. Walking distance to the tourist areas, shops and harbour.

Our room on the 5th floor room 528 had a view with the railway platforms to the side. The room was a standard size. Our bed was clean and comfortable and well air conditioned. Lighting was dim. TV Trouser Press and Iron. Kettle tea and coffee powdered milk. Mini Bar and fridge space. Writing desk and chair. Comfy chair and plenty of storing space.

The bathroom had a powerful shower but it did keep going hot and cold. Plenty of towels. Shower gel soap and shampoo. Hairdryer and magnifing mirror.

No internal or external noise.

Breakfast - We had breakfast included with our room. The first day we went down at 7.30 opening time. Plenty of nice fresh bread. Cereals, fruit, doughnuts and pancakes, ham and cheese. Fish. We had some nice marinated prawns with spring onions which were different. Sausage, bacon, meatballs, scrambled eggs and stone cold beans. Four and seven minute boiled eggs. There only seemed to be a couple of members of staff. Shortage of plates and dishes and tables piled up with dirty plates. The second day Sunday was later 9.45. They close at 11am. They was a shortage of some food and breads and nobody topped up while we were there and we were reminded at 10.50 they were closing. Get there early. I think it was E15.00 if you pay on the day. Ice machine on the second floor.

Business Centre is in a locked area which your hotel room key opens where there are two computers for free internet access. Small bar and seating area in the foyer of the hotel. Reception staff very helpful and speak good English.

The only negatives were that on our second day our cups in our room were taken away and not replaced, the laminated floor was not swept and the lack of some breakfast foods on the second day.

Overall a good hotel great location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    221
    80
    19
    2
See reviews for
43
129
73
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My stay at the hotel was fine. Untill I discovered just before leaving for the airport that my laptop was stolen from the luggage room! This room was closed and could only be entered under supervision of the staff. I did not receive any help from the staff at the moment of this unpleasant discovery and they did not support me in any way with this problem. The only reply I got was that there was a big sign that said: "Hotel is not responsible for loss or damage".

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Anouk V,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details regarding your stay.

Again, thank you for your time and I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The hotel is easily connected to the airport with a bus , 6 euros
Clean, good beds, comfortable, great breakfast, quiet. Good costumer service
Spent only one night
I was not impressed with the dinner that was given to us, but the travel company made the order, not me

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Usual high standards of Holiday Inn. Location ideal if arriving / departing by train from St Petersburg etc., or by bus from airport. Can walk undercover on flat pavement to platforms / bus. Easy walk to main tourist attractions, shops etc. But......... room rates are not cheap - Helsinki is expensive and so are rooms here. Executive room relatively small, although containing all expected features. Most guests seemed to be on business.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear MikeNZ2013,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It's a pleasure that you have chosen us for your recent travel. I am glad that we we able to meet your expectations when it comes to our brand standards and features.

It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our guests with our rates, but to instead offer options that make sense. We always appreciate comments from our guests, and we will use this feedback in making decisions about our future pricing strategies.

Once again, thank you for staying and we hope we have another chance of hosting you again.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is well situated. Rooms are small and have no safe. Good thing was that they offer you two kind of pillows, soft and firm. Overall experience is avarage. They do not have a private parking as it is public. Even no places reserved for guests near the entrance. The discount (as I found out) the hotel gets is not geven to the hotelguest. 36€ is rather expensive(24hrs)

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Louis A,

Thank you for staying with us. I am glad you liked our convenient location. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensala
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Very good location if you travel with airplane or train. I have stayed in this hotel every month for many years. Nice clean rooms. I allways get an upgrade because of Platinum status. I miss a lounge room in this hotel. Good breakfast. Only 100m to the railway station

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

On my most recent visit to Helsinki I stayed four nights at this HI. Check-in and all Reception dealings were good. The female staff in the restaurant were efficient. The male staff member in the restaurant was not good.His attitude and the manner he went about his duties left a lot to be desired.(Anyone who drops a well used cloth on the floor and then picks it up and thereafter wipes tables with it should not be working in a restaurant !).

My great gripe was with the make up of the room each morning. As to the bed the duvet was simply pulled up each morning. The underneath sheet was not touched and was left crumpled and creased. The bed was not in fact made!

Likewise any cup which I had used to drink from during the evening was left exactly where I had left it- unwashed.

This hotel is relatively pricecy compaired to other hotels in Helsinki. Moreover one would need to take out a bank loan to pay the charges for even a very modest amount of laundry to be done.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear BrianHalpin,

Thank you for your candid review. We’re glad to know check in was smooth for you and we thank you for your kind words of praise. Your concerns regarding the restaurant staff have been noted. I am confident that the necessary actions will be taken in order to achieve superior guest satisfaction and prevent any further inconvenience.

Again, thank you for staying with us. We look forward to serving you on your next future visit.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Address: Elielinaukio 5, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#17 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel and you will find yourself in the middle of all the business, excitement and entertainment of Helsinki City. This modern hotel lies in the heart of Helsinki next to the main Railway Station joining modern and historical architecture together conveniently. Holiday Inn offers perfect facilities for business and leisure travellers. The hotel offers comfortable rooms. Staying with us you will be able to enjoy the good quality and core services of Holiday Inn. The hotel contains state-of-the-art rooms including comfortable amenities, high-speed internet access, Business Center and WIFI wireless internet hot-spot. For relaxing there is a Finnish Sauna and Minigym. For wining and dining you can choose Restaurant Verde. Stepping outside of the hotel, there is a large selection of sights, shops, restaurants, museums and places of interest just in the neighbourhood. Stockmann department store, Market Square, Helsinki Music Centre, Finlandia Hall, Kiasma and Ateneum Art Museum just to name a few. If you are planning to visit other cities and regions nearby, you will find public transportation, local buses, trains and even metro in the immediate neighbourhood of the hotel. Or perhaps you would choose the tram to take you on a short sightseeing tour.Whether travelling on business or leisure, welcome to enjoy the Finnish hospitality at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.