We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elielinaukio 5, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #17 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Pensala
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Very good location if you travel with airplane or train. I have stayed in this hotel every month for many years. Nice clean rooms. I allways get an upgrade because of Platinum status. I miss a lounge room in this hotel. Good breakfast. Only 100m to the railway station

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    247
    85
    20
    2
See reviews for
48
142
82
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

On my most recent visit to Helsinki I stayed four nights at this HI. Check-in and all Reception dealings were good. The female staff in the restaurant were efficient. The male staff member in the restaurant was not good.His attitude and the manner he went about his duties left a lot to be desired.(Anyone who drops a well used cloth on the floor and then picks it up and thereafter wipes tables with it should not be working in a restaurant !).

My great gripe was with the make up of the room each morning. As to the bed the duvet was simply pulled up each morning. The underneath sheet was not touched and was left crumpled and creased. The bed was not in fact made!

Likewise any cup which I had used to drink from during the evening was left exactly where I had left it- unwashed.

This hotel is relatively pricecy compaired to other hotels in Helsinki. Moreover one would need to take out a bank loan to pay the charges for even a very modest amount of laundry to be done.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear BrianHalpin,

Thank you for your candid review. We’re glad to know check in was smooth for you and we thank you for your kind words of praise. Your concerns regarding the restaurant staff have been noted. I am confident that the necessary actions will be taken in order to achieve superior guest satisfaction and prevent any further inconvenience.

Again, thank you for staying with us. We look forward to serving you on your next future visit.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I was pleased with this hotel. The room was a decent size, clean & modern. The bed was relatively comfortable and the breakfast was very good. It was a bit pricey but it was good. The location was also very good, particuarly if you need the railway station, which I did. I would stay again if in Helsinki.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed here for one night due to flight delay while travelling to Jyväskylä during end of November 2010. The connection flight was missed and thus forced to stay here by Fin Air. Very small hotel with rooms of cage size. It is kind of okay if you don't have anything else to do in Helsinki other than sleeping, was feeling claustrophobic with the size and room layout.

Would suggest you to check out the rooms before moving in. My case might be specific as these rooms are designed for their tie ups with Airlines when delayed with connection flight.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear SaneeshKumar,

Thank you for posting a review about our property. It’s nice to know that our location was suitable for your travel needs. On the other hand, I am very sorry for the inconvenience you may have experienced with your room reservation. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the manager on duty. We look forward to serving you again when you return to Helsinki.

Sincerely,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This HI is conveniently located next to the main train station which is why I regularly stay there for my business trips to Helsinki. The breakfast buffet is good, and the rooms are as one could expect from a hotel of this category.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chippenham,wilts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Good hotel, very clean. Right in centre next to bus station and railway station, ideal for seeing the city and also travelling out. Rooms clean and ours was a good size. Breakfast excellent. Staff friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nahariya, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Very good hotel, very clean, good service and English speaking staff, breakfast is good but can be upgraded to have more choices but for an European standards is very good.
I went to Tallinn (Estonia) for the day and they had prepared (on request) a take on breakfast for me and my friends since the restaurant was still close by the time we left.
Room very clean and I can say sound proof.
Very well located for anyone planning a visit for pleasure or business, bus station in front of the hotel and railway station just under it and next to it. Metro and trams at 1 minute walk from the hotel front door.
I will definitely will stay again in my next visit to Helsinki.

Room Tip: I am an IHG member so I got a room on the 6th floor, I guess that also helped with the almost none e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Address: Elielinaukio 5, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel and you will find yourself in the middle of all the business, excitement and entertainment of Helsinki City. This modern hotel lies in the heart of Helsinki next to the main Railway Station joining modern and historical architecture together conveniently. Holiday Inn offers perfect facilities for business and leisure travellers. The hotel offers comfortable rooms. Staying with us you will be able to enjoy the good quality and core services of Holiday Inn. The hotel contains state-of-the-art rooms including comfortable amenities, high-speed internet access, Business Center and WIFI wireless internet hot-spot. For relaxing there is a Finnish Sauna and Minigym. For wining and dining you can choose Restaurant Verde. Stepping outside of the hotel, there is a large selection of sights, shops, restaurants, museums and places of interest just in the neighbourhood. Stockmann department store, Market Square, Helsinki Music Centre, Finlandia Hall, Kiasma and Ateneum Art Museum just to name a few. If you are planning to visit other cities and regions nearby, you will find public transportation, local buses, trains and even metro in the immediate neighbourhood of the hotel. Or perhaps you would choose the tram to take you on a short sightseeing tour.Whether travelling on business or leisure, welcome to enjoy the Finnish hospitality at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.