We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific location terrific hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elielinaukio 5, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Terrific location terrific hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel is superbly located alongside the main train station so was ideal for our arrival and departure to St Petersburg, yet it was really quiet with excellent soundproofing and well appointed rooms. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful from check-in where our trainee was thorough, friendly and very efficient! The buffet breakfast had a good range of foods. The hotel is ideally located to access tourist sights, museums and the hop-on-hop-off bus. This hotel was an excellent choice for us and we would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    253
    87
    20
    2
See reviews for
49
143
86
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights early in June. Its location is ideal. It is close to all forms of public transport including the airport bus. Trams to many of the tourist attractions leave from nearby. There is a supermarket and plenty of restaurants in the vicinity. The buffet breakfast at the hotel was quite extensive.

There was no wifi in our room, but it was available in the business centre, as was access to PC’s and a printer, which was helpful to print out tickets etc.

Although the bedding and amenities in the room were good, there was no effective air conditioning and the room was too hot. An electric fan was provided but was only of limited value. This is probably not a problem in the colder months.

As a general comment, we enjoyed our stay and would return again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Spend 4 nights ar Hokiday Inn Helsinki City Centre. Good location with easy access (50m) to regional trains. Good gym ans sauna as we as restaurant. Excellent proximity to airport shuttle bus and city overall.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in the perfect location, right next to the main train and bus station and right in the city centre.

The hotel is ok, service not amazing and the wifi doesn't work!

Rooms are clean but pretty basic.

Would stay here again but only because of the location!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Sarah T,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I am pleased you liked the location. I also appreciate that you noticed the cleanliness of the room. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered over the unsatisfactory service you received. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Probably the best hotel we stayed at on our Scandinavian tour. Location very central and about 50 metres from airport bus stop as well as train station. McDonalds nearby as well as cafes in the station. Room very comfortable. Very helpful staff who arranged use of a shower after our checkout before our late night flight.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Phila.
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in the middle of August. I would have given this hotel an excellent rating, had it not been for the lack of ventilation in the room. It was not at all warm at night, but you cannot open the windows in the room. There is a temperature control on the wall, but it is only cosmetic. They told me at the front desk that the windows could not be opened " for security reasons ". So, the room temperature remained at a very stuffy 75 - 76 degree temperature - too warm for a good nights sleep. My complaints led to maintenance putting a fan in our room, but this just blew a lot of hot air around.

Shame, because the hotel had so many positives. The buffet breakfast was huge, and had something for everyone. And the selection of local breads at the breakfast buffet was wonderful. The location was convenient to everything - adjacent to the main train station.

The room was clean, and had a tub in the bathroom. They had English language programs on the flat screen TV. Even the local stations showed English language shows. When I turned on the TV, I was able to catch an episode of "Foyle's War " which I had missed - with Finnish subtitles.

As a Priority Club member, I was given a free English language newspaper - the Financial Times - every morning. The bed was comfortable, and I would have slept well, had I been able to breathe more comfortably. There were separate saunas for men and women on the second floor - did not check them out. There was also a business center just off the main lobby. The hotel claims to be fully air conditioned, but all I wanted was to have some of the cool outside air circulating in our room at night. WiFi was spotty.

I might stay here again, if I return to Helsinki in the winter.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear CJIMI,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member and for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed most of the products and services that we have to offer.

Whilst I am pleased with the kind comments, I am truly sorry for the poor ventilation and air conditioning system. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience and dissatisfaction this has caused you. We endeavor to meet all guests’ expectations at all times and regret that we failed on this instance.

Your feedback is indeed of utmost importance to us and rest assured that actions will be taken to ensure our guests continue to enjoy superlative levels of service and comfort that they expect when staying at our hotel. Your review will be used to consider improvements where possible. Once again, thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here after Christmas 2012 (around the 28th). The hotel was right in the centre and just by the main train station. We walked with our bags! We had breakfast with the rate and there was a good selection. We did not have tea/coffee facilities in the rooms but there had a café in the reception area. The hotel served its purpose so no complaints. Wouldn't mind staying there again as it was just for one night on our way home - we had spent our holidays in St Petersburg and Tallinn.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room facing the station! The higher the floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Veronika78,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Address: Elielinaukio 5, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel and you will find yourself in the middle of all the business, excitement and entertainment of Helsinki City. This modern hotel lies in the heart of Helsinki next to the main Railway Station joining modern and historical architecture together conveniently. Holiday Inn offers perfect facilities for business and leisure travellers. The hotel offers comfortable rooms. Staying with us you will be able to enjoy the good quality and core services of Holiday Inn. The hotel contains state-of-the-art rooms including comfortable amenities, high-speed internet access, Business Center and WIFI wireless internet hot-spot. For relaxing there is a Finnish Sauna and Minigym. For wining and dining you can choose Restaurant Verde. Stepping outside of the hotel, there is a large selection of sights, shops, restaurants, museums and places of interest just in the neighbourhood. Stockmann department store, Market Square, Helsinki Music Centre, Finlandia Hall, Kiasma and Ateneum Art Museum just to name a few. If you are planning to visit other cities and regions nearby, you will find public transportation, local buses, trains and even metro in the immediate neighbourhood of the hotel. Or perhaps you would choose the tram to take you on a short sightseeing tour.Whether travelling on business or leisure, welcome to enjoy the Finnish hospitality at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.