We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last few day for this trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elielinaukio 5, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #18 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Oxnard, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Last few day for this trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great location, right next to the train station and in the heart of town. We had nothing to do but wander around and explore this northern city. Is not a luxury hotel, you pay extra for everything but when you do it is all well done. We ate breakfast once here (not included) and after that found the local restaurants were much more to our liking. Next time we'll try another hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    232
    82
    20
    2
See reviews for
44
133
78
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We came by train and the hotel is right next to the station, while all buses, trams got stops next to the station! (Tho u can actually walk to most of the places as the city is not that big). Staff was helpful and polite, sauna is complimentary. Essential tolieteries are compliementry but u need to ask for them at reception, not bad from an enviromental point of view. No free wifi is a drawback (u can pay for internet service if u want), but we printed our ferry tickets at business centre for free without problem. Up to standard as an european business hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Came into Helsinki for a 3-day visit with no firm plans on what I was going to do, so I looked for something around the central railway station as that is usually a good bet in Europe.

After comparing options the HI seemed to have best combination of location and price/room type for what I wanted. I wasn't eager to stay at an HI as I think of it as an extension of American mediocrity, but I went with it in spite of my feelings. I booked an Executive King. Since I arrived just before the Summer Evening Holiday (when everyone leaves town for summer homes) the price actually went down 30% over the course of my stay (Tue-Fri).

The hotel is right on the square looking at the train station and the airport bus stops 50 metres away from the front door. The trams (most of them) stop in front of the train station and buses are all over, so transportation choice depends on where you are going!

The room was clean, good-sized, nice Scandinavian beds, internet available, and water bottle were free since it was an "executive" room.

Noise was not a problem and I slept OK. Didn't use the restaurant since brekkie wasn't included.

I recommend this as an option if you are coming, just overlook the HI branding and it looks like any other European hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Its a Holiday Inn so you know what to expect but this one,although with that slightly "worn" look all over ,including the rooms , is slightly above the norm. The location is sensational ...at the railway station, the end of the bus line from the airport (30mins) and smack in the centre of town .Just can't be beat! Very friendly reception staff ,,cozy well appointed rooms with every usual extra...free wifi etc... its not a hotel for long stays,but a very very adequate one for just a few days with lots of places to see and do in lovely Helsinki!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Jadida, Morocco
Top Contributor
421 reviews 421 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

OK, I walked into this one with my eyes open. I knew that I would have to pay extra for WiFi and for breakfast on the tariff I chose - my usual hotel was fully booked and others were just too dear. But why should anyone have to pay extra for these things in a 4 star hotel in a modern capital city? As it happened, I got the WiFi for free in the end anyway, as the cabled connection broke down. The only reason I'm not giving this place 2 stars is that the incredibly nice and efficient girl on reception apologised profusely and gave me 2 days free WiFi till the problem was fixed. All the staff on the front desk were excellent, as were the breakfast people.

What else? The breakfast then. I don't think it's that much! Inexpensive hotels in Finland provide very much the same except for the overcooked bacon and hot dishes of dried up meatballs, scrambled egg and tiny frankfurters. Yes, there might be a couple of extra specialist breads/rolls and cereals or other bits and pieces, but you can only eat so much at 9 in the morning. And I've stayed at a cheap hotel in Helsinki that does the hot food too. The breakfast cost me 18 Euros. I didn't take it the second day, went out and ate better elsewhere for 12.

I didn't get any tea/coffee making equipment. What's all that about?

The room was of an adequate size, very clean and I don't worry a bit about wetroom-type bathrooms. I don't mind that you don't get individual toiletries. They only get stolen anyway!

Again, for a 4 star international hotel, the choice of TV programmes was risible. Ah, but if you wanted to pay more, you could get more, pay-to-view films and so on. I've had better TV offerings in a 3 star in Morocco.

The location is fantastically convenient, right next to where the airport bus drops you off and right by the station. You can walk to many of the sights in town and many good restaurants.

But, in the end, this is a Holiday Inn, with all that this implies. If you like the formula, than it's a place for you. I happen not to - I think it's mean, capitalistic and money-grabbing. And I disliked intensely having to leave a deposit of 100 Euros at the desk in case I took stuff from the minibar.

I really want to give this place a 2. But as I said, the staff (and the location) redeemed the premises somewhat. That's the only reason.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear John W,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I'm glad to hear you found our front desk staff agent to be personable and cheerful. We're proud of our staff. However, I would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced because of the internet connection. Rest assured that the issues you have raised has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn, New York
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

On our way back to the US from Vienna we had an overnight stop in Helsinki. Great opportunity to see at least a part of Finland. As our luggage was going directly through to NY, we took the Finn Air bus into the city. A few steps from the bus is the train station and this hotel. Service, rooms etc. were adequete but nothing great. Biggest problem we had was the restaurant only served a steeply priced buffet. We couldn't even just get a cup of coffee and maybe a slice of toast. They served coffee in the lobby for free but when I went down to the lobby, the decanters were empty, there were no cups and they did nothing about replentishing the coffee bar. At least there is a McDonalds a block away. We walked through Helsinki, found a lovely park and had a great meal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear GrandPaRuss,

First of all, we like to thank you for having chosen our hotel and we also like to thank you for having taken the time to share your valuable comment with us. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

We hope this incident did not mar your overall impression of our hotel and that you can afford us an opportunity of making it right and welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

A very nice, modern Holiday Inn.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. The gym is a bit small but the location and the rooms make up for it.
Breakfast is also good, lots choices between warm options, fresh fruit and cereal.
Also, typical Finnish bread.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Address: Elielinaukio 5, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#17 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel and you will find yourself in the middle of all the business, excitement and entertainment of Helsinki City. This modern hotel lies in the heart of Helsinki next to the main Railway Station joining modern and historical architecture together conveniently. Holiday Inn offers perfect facilities for business and leisure travellers. The hotel offers comfortable rooms. Staying with us you will be able to enjoy the good quality and core services of Holiday Inn. The hotel contains state-of-the-art rooms including comfortable amenities, high-speed internet access, Business Center and WIFI wireless internet hot-spot. For relaxing there is a Finnish Sauna and Minigym. For wining and dining you can choose Restaurant Verde. Stepping outside of the hotel, there is a large selection of sights, shops, restaurants, museums and places of interest just in the neighbourhood. Stockmann department store, Market Square, Helsinki Music Centre, Finlandia Hall, Kiasma and Ateneum Art Museum just to name a few. If you are planning to visit other cities and regions nearby, you will find public transportation, local buses, trains and even metro in the immediate neighbourhood of the hotel. Or perhaps you would choose the tram to take you on a short sightseeing tour.Whether travelling on business or leisure, welcome to enjoy the Finnish hospitality at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.