We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location. Clean and modern.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elielinaukio 5, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Savonlinna, Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Central location. Clean and modern.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Hotel is about 1 minute walk away form central railway station , so location is very good. Clean and comfortable rooms. From hotel's bar you can observe bypassing people, if your credit card is in good condition :) Small bottled beer 7,30€...

Room Tip: While ordering your room, check that breakfast is included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    253
    87
    20
    2
See reviews for
49
144
86
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have stayed here quiet a few times - all for pleasure, so when i pay i want the best i can get.

Despite being right on the railway you cant hear a thing.

Room are decent sized. My only issue with both rooms i have stayed in is the shower - you cant help but flood the bathroom!

Staff are pleasant a helpful. Breakfast is very expensive if not included and not that great but there is choice and variety.

I will stay here on all future visits as the Finnair bus drops you off right in front.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel a couple of times with my spouse. The location is excellent, very close to the central railway station and all the important sites in Helsinki. The staff is nice and do their job well. The rooms are a bit small. As we stayed here in December 2012 the cleanliness was no longer what it used to be (the rooms are obviously no longer new - they're still OK clean, but this time I noticed small stains on the plastic shower walls + some urine stains on the toilet seat cover, yuck! - which made me think the whole bathroom could use a good scrubbing...). Helsinki is very popular during the winter holiday season and the hotel prices can be even more expensive than 'normally', but at the Holiday Inn you're mainly paying for the good location - nothing luxurious.

Room Tip: The view to the city center from the higher floors is nice, and even though the bus station is rathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear nellcote,

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear our convenient location suited you well. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. We apologize for the shortfalls during your stay and sincerely regret bathroom cleanliness and hotel service did not meet your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stay in Holiday Inn Helsinki for 2 nights in late Oct 2012. The hotel location is good, you can take the Finn Air airport bus (fare at Euro 1.60 p/way) and it stop at the end of the bus terminal where the hotel is just cross opposite. There is also a railway station diagonally opposite the hotel which you can travel to any outskirt cities of Finland. Shopping centre are within walking distance from the hotel so is actually quite easy to move around. Never visit Helsinki over the weekend coz the shop closed early on Saturday and do not open on Sunday, not even the local sightseeing tour or attraction places. I happened to stay over the weekend so you can imagine that I can't do anything except shopping during the opening hour and most of the time stay in the hotel room to serve internet, fortunate that they provide free wifi in room. As we went in late Oct, the weather is cold around 5-7 degrees so the air condition in the room is off so is the air ventilation, the room is very stuffy & window sealed. Luckily they do provide us with a fan so at least we have some air to "breathe" We are glad we just stayed 2 nights and move on to Rovaniemi for our early Xmas celebration before heading to Barcelona.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher floor coz the hotel is near to the bus terminal and train station, so it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Jojo1964_12,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the issues you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed one night and found this to be a good choice for a quick visit to Helsinki. The staff was good and courteous and the location next to the train station and next to the bus was perfect because I arrived in town on the train and left by air. The room itself was nice with a comfortable bed but was just a tad worn with some stains on the bathroom sink and cabinets that could use refreshing. But the bed was excellent, the room was quiet and the location couldn't be beat so I have no complaints overall. I will certainly consider this hotel again should I return to Helsinki one day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located right in the center of Helsinki, close to the bus station and railway station. Room was confortable, without noises. Breakfast has a good variety, even if not too much "sweet" food. Businness Center easy accesible with the room key.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

It was chilly in the room and that's the only problem. Breakfast is standard, sauna is warm. Location is perfect, just nearby the main railway station.
Other was expectable considering the price.
Hotel is a bit tired in general.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Address: Elielinaukio 5, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel and you will find yourself in the middle of all the business, excitement and entertainment of Helsinki City. This modern hotel lies in the heart of Helsinki next to the main Railway Station joining modern and historical architecture together conveniently. Holiday Inn offers perfect facilities for business and leisure travellers. The hotel offers comfortable rooms. Staying with us you will be able to enjoy the good quality and core services of Holiday Inn. The hotel contains state-of-the-art rooms including comfortable amenities, high-speed internet access, Business Center and WIFI wireless internet hot-spot. For relaxing there is a Finnish Sauna and Minigym. For wining and dining you can choose Restaurant Verde. Stepping outside of the hotel, there is a large selection of sights, shops, restaurants, museums and places of interest just in the neighbourhood. Stockmann department store, Market Square, Helsinki Music Centre, Finlandia Hall, Kiasma and Ateneum Art Museum just to name a few. If you are planning to visit other cities and regions nearby, you will find public transportation, local buses, trains and even metro in the immediate neighbourhood of the hotel. Or perhaps you would choose the tram to take you on a short sightseeing tour.Whether travelling on business or leisure, welcome to enjoy the Finnish hospitality at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.