We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next to the airport buses” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elielinaukio 5, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Next to the airport buses”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

If you arrive by air, the bus from the airport will drop you off just outside the entrance of this hotel. It is also right next to the main railway station. The breakfast is ok, but nothing to write home about. The hotel can accomodate several hundred guests, but the breakfast room/restaurant only have 100 seats. Of course, at breakfast time, this means that there are only room for 60-70 people, since Nordic hotel guests hate to eat breakfast sitting next to strangers.

There is WIFI with variable quality. They (not the hotel itself, but rather the net provider) try to charge you for using it, but if you ask in the reception, they will give you access for free. If even the receptionist asks you to pay for the access, sign up for the holiday inn priority program (it takes you 40 seconds to fill out the form) and get complimentary WIFI.

Late checkout until 13:00 if you ask for it. Until 14:00 if you are member of their priority program .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    253
    87
    20
    2
See reviews for
49
143
86
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Great location for all travellers, very central and next to the main train station. The house is modern and nice designed; their service is very good. The staff at the front desk were very firnsly and always smiling. Our room was spacious, modern and with free Internet acces. The bathroom was very nice too. generally it's a very nice property however a little bit expensive as many things in Finnland.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
171 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel is very conveniently located, next to the train station and the point from which a number of city buses leave. Bed quality was excellent and much appreciated, since I had been traveling for more than 24 hours. The business office houses two computers whose use is free to hotel clients. The hotel restaurant offers several Finnish delicacies like reindeer steak and dessert with cloudberries. We put together our own inexpensive lunches from the delicatessen at a nearby department store.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

located meters away from train station. Bus from airport stops 50 meters from hotel entrance, so very convenient location. Room was nice. Internet was not free but was really cheap, 2.5euros per day.
breakfast was 18 euros per day and it was really bad.
I will recommend to stay here, but go to any of the many coffee shops where you can get much better breakfast.
It has a sauna, but we did not use it

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riihimäki, Southern Finland, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The location is excellent. The train station is next to the hotel and so are the bus and metro stations. Three big malls/compartment stores are within walking distance. As well as museums.

I think the hotel is great for short business trips but it would suit a shorter stay with friends and family as well because of the location.

I kind of expected more from the hotel. The room was quiet even though it faced the bus terminal. The room was tidy but there was no key to the minibar. But since I wasn't that thirsty I didn't complain. There was complementary electric kettle with a tea selection in the room but I didn't have time to try it out. Also there was an iron and ironing board wich might've come handy on a longer stay.

I was a bit disappointed by the breakfast. The selection wasn't that impressive and it was somehow difficult to find everything.

Room Tip: I think there is less traffic noise in the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I've been here three times, once in 2007 and then twice this past summer, 2012. I generally recommend the hotel--it's very well-located, being right next to the main railway station and also the bus plaza (which has a stand for the Finnair airport bus). I've never had a problem with the buffet brekfast--in fact, it's lived up to my expectations--and as one might expect being in northern Europe, you're going to find things like salmon and herring, as well as most items that Americans would eat. I'm a dual national (US/Finland) and have family in dear old Suomi, so I'm not unfamiliar with non-American breakfasts (I'm not a herring fan per se but it certainly doesn't perturb me at 8AM). If you want a good location and a pretty good hotel, I think this is fine. Are there true luxury hotels in Helsinki? Yes, I'd assume so, but one doesn't need luxury for a good night's stay. From either the bus or train stations right there, as well as the city streets, you can find local, regional, and long-distance transportation easily. Yes, there's construction going on right by the station on the north side of the hotel, but that won't last. In all, I'd stay there again, and chances are I will when I finally get to bring my young son to his ancestral homeland (one of them, at least!)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

You can't beat it. We stayed here for four nights and were completely satisfied. Housekeeping is good, the staff is friendly and the rooms are decent. We were in room 401, on the far north side. They are doing construction directly north of the building and that was a little noisy, but the rooms really are pretty quiet considering all the activity going on around it (buses, trains, traffic).

Will stay again if we return to Helsinki, which is a lovely city by the way!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Address: Elielinaukio 5, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel and you will find yourself in the middle of all the business, excitement and entertainment of Helsinki City. This modern hotel lies in the heart of Helsinki next to the main Railway Station joining modern and historical architecture together conveniently. Holiday Inn offers perfect facilities for business and leisure travellers. The hotel offers comfortable rooms. Staying with us you will be able to enjoy the good quality and core services of Holiday Inn. The hotel contains state-of-the-art rooms including comfortable amenities, high-speed internet access, Business Center and WIFI wireless internet hot-spot. For relaxing there is a Finnish Sauna and Minigym. For wining and dining you can choose Restaurant Verde. Stepping outside of the hotel, there is a large selection of sights, shops, restaurants, museums and places of interest just in the neighbourhood. Stockmann department store, Market Square, Helsinki Music Centre, Finlandia Hall, Kiasma and Ateneum Art Museum just to name a few. If you are planning to visit other cities and regions nearby, you will find public transportation, local buses, trains and even metro in the immediate neighbourhood of the hotel. Or perhaps you would choose the tram to take you on a short sightseeing tour.Whether travelling on business or leisure, welcome to enjoy the Finnish hospitality at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.