We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eccentric owner, average food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kitch Eat & Drink

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kitch Eat & Drink
Yrjonkatu 30, Helsinki, Finland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #229 of 1,012 Restaurants in Helsinki
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Monza
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Eccentric owner, average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The eccentric owner welcomes you on board and tells you what's left (several dishes from the menu had finished although we arrived around 7 pm). Price might be ok for Helsinki but way overpriced compared to the rest of the world. The dishes were average, but my rating falls below average as we found a black hair (three blondes and a bold guy in our party) in one of the dishes.
Eating in Helsinki is very expensive but also not very exciting from our experience, hence we started to go shopping and make our own meals ...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice break from more traditional restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

After travelling for two weeks, we needed a break from more traditional restaurants. Kitch provided us with well-cooked, tasty food at a reasonable price. Salmon salad and vegeburger were both just fine. The beer and cider were good. Location is great for watching people go by, with a good view of nicer buildings across the street. Order and pay at the bar, but the food and drinks are delivered to your table. The barman was cheerful and helpful. Great English, of course, like everyone else in Helsinski. Recommended.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good place and reasonable for Helsinki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Found this place after two weeks in Helsinki:( the pasta and meatballs is very good. This is a good place to know for a quick casual meal and a glass of wine, especially to get away from the harbor crowd. Interesting staff. I will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

The owner speaks nonsense and for students it can be value for money. Ps. The shown picture is not correct.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“saw the meatballs with pasta in tomato sauce,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

through the window. A women sat there eating. I went in got the last table. It was really crowded. I ordered my dish for 14.50€. Tasted really good, like homemade and a large-sized portion. Worthy every cent.

PS: Beware of the garlic

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kitch Eat & Drink also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Kitch Eat & Drink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kitch Eat & Drink, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.