We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See the dinosaurus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Natural History Museum (Luonnontieteellinen Museo)

Natural History Museum (Luonnontieteellinen Museo)
Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 13, Helsinki, Finland (Taka-Töölö)
09-191-7400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 147 Attractions in Helsinki
Type: Natural History Museums
Attraction Details
Helsinki
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“See the dinosaurus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

If you want to have a little extra in Helsinki centre why not pop into the Natural History Museum. So center located you can walk to it. Takes about two hours to see the place and it is certainly interesting. We had fun!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    28
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Visit if you understand Finnish or Swedish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

It is a nice museum in Ugendstil building, exhibiting replica of dinosaurs' bones to stuffed Finnish animals. There are some quiz about dinosaurs for you to have more information. Only the problem is that everything is written in Finnish and Swedish, so cannot be recommended to tourists who do not understand either of these languages.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Quite the find for all ages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Although most people would say that a museum like this is more geared for children, I thought it was fascinating.

Yes, it is a small museum (small as in it is spread over 4 floors), but there's loads to see. The displays are absolutely amazing, and the effort put into making the animals and other fauna look in-situ is something I haven't seen anywhere else.

If you want to make sure you understand everything you're looking at, use the audio companions because nearly all of the exhibits are in Finnish and Swedish.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great with kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Lovely museum, as all museums in Helsinki, closed every Monday and shuts every day at 4pm, so be aware of that since we went in and they did not tell us at all that we only had 25 minutes to see it all which it is not enough at all.
Very nicely set, we went without kids but our kids would have loved it. Very impressive displays.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toluca Lake, CA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Lots to see here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I missed this museum the last time I was in Helsinki. There is free audio in English which is very helpful when you view the different exhibits. Lost of bones of animals and fish and kid friendly, even if I don't have any. You could spend a day looking and listening to the various descriptions on the free audio tape.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natural History Museum (Luonnontieteellinen Museo) also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Natural History Museum (Luonnontieteellinen Museo)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natural History Museum (Luonnontieteellinen Museo), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.