We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See the dinosaurus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Natural History Museum (Luonnontieteellinen Museo)

Natural History Museum (Luonnontieteellinen Museo)
Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 13, Helsinki, Finland (Kampinmalmi)
09-191-7400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 233 things to do in Helsinki
Attraction details
Helsinki
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“See the dinosaurus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

If you want to have a little extra in Helsinki centre why not pop into the Natural History Museum. So center located you can walk to it. Takes about two hours to see the place and it is certainly interesting. We had fun!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    47
    8
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Visit if you understand Finnish or Swedish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

It is a nice museum in Ugendstil building, exhibiting replica of dinosaurs' bones to stuffed Finnish animals. There are some quiz about dinosaurs for you to have more information. Only the problem is that everything is written in Finnish and Swedish, so cannot be recommended to tourists who do not understand either of these languages.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Quite the find for all ages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Although most people would say that a museum like this is more geared for children, I thought it was fascinating.

Yes, it is a small museum (small as in it is spread over 4 floors), but there's loads to see. The displays are absolutely amazing, and the effort put into making the animals and other fauna look in-situ is something I haven't seen anywhere else.

If you want to make sure you understand everything you're looking at, use the audio companions because nearly all of the exhibits are in Finnish and Swedish.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great with kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Lovely museum, as all museums in Helsinki, closed every Monday and shuts every day at 4pm, so be aware of that since we went in and they did not tell us at all that we only had 25 minutes to see it all which it is not enough at all.
Very nicely set, we went without kids but our kids would have loved it. Very impressive displays.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toluca Lake, CA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Lots to see here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I missed this museum the last time I was in Helsinki. There is free audio in English which is very helpful when you view the different exhibits. Lost of bones of animals and fish and kid friendly, even if I don't have any. You could spend a day looking and listening to the various descriptions on the free audio tape.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natural History Museum (Luonnontieteellinen Museo) also viewed

 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Natural History Museum (Luonnontieteellinen Museo)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natural History Museum (Luonnontieteellinen Museo), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.