We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tove 100y” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ateneum Art Museum

Ateneum Art Museum
Kaivokatu 2, Helsinki FI-00100, Finland
358294500200
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$50*
and up
Helsinki Card
Ranked #28 of 215 things to do in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Joensuu, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tove 100y”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

What amazing exhibition. Loving the Moomin but didnt know Tove made lot another paintings. Hood for childrens too, the moomin set ups are great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    130
    44
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful and lucky to have caught the Tove Jansson exhibition!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We visited this place one afternoon to see the Tove Jansson exhibition, which exceeded our expectations! The exhibition is rich in broad material from her entire career, and also includes photos of her, art made by her family members and in cooperation with Tove as well as drawings, oil paintings, 3D models of the Moomin houses (I forget what the proper name for these is), video clips, artefacts and more. I warmly recommend it to anyone with any interest in Moomin valley, Tove Jansson, Finland and Europe during and post WWII.
Go see it!
I would also have loved to visit the rest of the museum but that will have to wait until my next visit to Finland.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good museum, some exhibitions closed as of August 2014”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I went to the Ateneum in August 2014. Good thing: There is a special Tove Jansson exhibition till early September. Lots of her work, and of course lots of Moomi pictures, paintings, models and effects.

Bad thing - part of the museum (2rd floor) is closed as of now for renovation. I didn't see when it would reopen. Still, lots to see on the first two floors.

This is just across the street from the railway station, trams and buses, so very easy access. Free with the Helsinki card. The museum shop also has some space to sit down and relax a bit.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Moomin good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Visited Helsinki to see the Tove 100, a celebration of the work of Tove Jansson. Arrived early and left late there was so much to see. After a couple of hours we took a break and had a meal in the museum restaurant before continuing our visit. Was it worth the expense and trouble of flying in from the UK just to see it? We thought it was, of cause we made a 4 day break around the exhibition and saw some of Helsinki. A very good exhibition, pity the museum is undergoing some roof repairs so the top floor was closed so that Tove 100 was the only exhibit. The. Museum shop was doing a very good trade in Moomin artefacts and absorbed some of our cash too.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This is a terrific art museum. We went to the Tove Jansson exhibition which was fantastic. Although we were familiar with her Moomintroll books we didn't realise what a talented and diversified artist she was.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ateneum Art Museum also viewed

 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Ateneum Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ateneum Art Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.