We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and lucky to have caught the Tove Jansson exhibition!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ateneum Art Museum (Konstmuseet Ateneum)

Ateneum Art Museum (Konstmuseet Ateneum)
Kaivokatu 2, Helsinki FI-00100, Finland
358 0 9 1733 6401
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$48*
and up
Helsinki Card
Ranked #16 of 129 Attractions in Helsinki
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful and lucky to have caught the Tove Jansson exhibition!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We visited this place one afternoon to see the Tove Jansson exhibition, which exceeded our expectations! The exhibition is rich in broad material from her entire career, and also includes photos of her, art made by her family members and in cooperation with Tove as well as drawings, oil paintings, 3D models of the Moomin houses (I forget what the proper name for these is), video clips, artefacts and more. I warmly recommend it to anyone with any interest in Moomin valley, Tove Jansson, Finland and Europe during and post WWII.
Go see it!
I would also have loved to visit the rest of the museum but that will have to wait until my next visit to Finland.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    104
    33
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good museum, some exhibitions closed as of August 2014”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I went to the Ateneum in August 2014. Good thing: There is a special Tove Jansson exhibition till early September. Lots of her work, and of course lots of Moomi pictures, paintings, models and effects.

Bad thing - part of the museum (2rd floor) is closed as of now for renovation. I didn't see when it would reopen. Still, lots to see on the first two floors.

This is just across the street from the railway station, trams and buses, so very easy access. Free with the Helsinki card. The museum shop also has some space to sit down and relax a bit.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Moomin good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Visited Helsinki to see the Tove 100, a celebration of the work of Tove Jansson. Arrived early and left late there was so much to see. After a couple of hours we took a break and had a meal in the museum restaurant before continuing our visit. Was it worth the expense and trouble of flying in from the UK just to see it? We thought it was, of cause we made a 4 day break around the exhibition and saw some of Helsinki. A very good exhibition, pity the museum is undergoing some roof repairs so the top floor was closed so that Tove 100 was the only exhibit. The. Museum shop was doing a very good trade in Moomin artefacts and absorbed some of our cash too.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This is a terrific art museum. We went to the Tove Jansson exhibition which was fantastic. Although we were familiar with her Moomintroll books we didn't realise what a talented and diversified artist she was.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Superb Tove Jansson Exhibit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Seeing work by Tove Jansson for the first time was a great discovery for me. I found this extensive exhibit of her work totally fascinating. Seeing examples of everything from her whimsical Moomins' series to her anti-Fascist political cartoons made my visit to the Ateneum Art Museum a highlight of my day's visit to Helsinki. Since I focused on the Tove exhibit, I can not comment on the permanent exhibit.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ateneum Art Museum (Konstmuseet Ateneum) also viewed

 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Ateneum Art Museum (Konstmuseet Ateneum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ateneum Art Museum (Konstmuseet Ateneum), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.