We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hoku

Hoku
Merimiehenkatu 18, Helsinki, Finland
+358-40-164-6160
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 1,012 Restaurants in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Japanese, Hawaiian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

When most of the better restaurants seem to be taking the day off on Mondays, Hoku was open and with excellent food! Trying to get away from the trite offering at the airport hotel; I took a 50 minute bus-tram trip to the center to go to this restaurant. And my trip was not for nothing. The fresh salmon and whitefish tartar and the braised beef neck were both very well-prepared and tasty. I would recommend this restaurant without any reservations. Menu can be found online at: www.hoku.fi

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    15
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Oxtail Adobo! That's All I Have to Say.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

One of the hidden gem in Finland and away from the tourist spot. This little restaurant offers a Pacific Rim cuisine that rivals any good restaurants in Hawai'i.
It is highly recommended to make a reservation if you want to dine here since it has a limited sitting. The service is far better than other restaurants that I been around Helsinki. The price is fairly reasonable and the portion is just right. You will never leave hungry if you try this restaurant.

One highly recommended dish is to try the Oxtail Adobo sprinkled with fresh herbs. It has a "broke da mouth" taste that takes me back to the island.

Thanks to Ryan for taking care of me and my wife. It was a pleasant experience and will definitely come back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Best food/service/price ration in Helsinki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Hoku has always been an enjoyment when it comes to food and service. It's laid back atmosphere invites to return yet again. Pork belly is definitely recommended dish. Make a reservation a to guarantee a seat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great food and service in hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

For starter the salmon tataki and as main Bi Bim Bap. Both were excellent, perfectly prepared and extremely tasty. We woul never have found this place without the good reviews on tripadvisor so now its my turn to spread the word! The place is tiny though, so be sure to book a table in advance!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Excellent japanese cuisine in Helsinki!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

An explosion of taste!! Do not miss this restaurant if you're in Helsinki. The service was excellent and the prices are more than affordable. A reservation is recommended as the restaurant is small and busy. I will definitely come back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoku also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Hoku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.