We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oxtail Adobo! That's All I Have to Say.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hoku

Hoku
Merimiehenkatu 18, Helsinki, Finland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 1,016 Restaurants in Helsinki
Cuisines: Japanese, Hawaiian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Oxtail Adobo! That's All I Have to Say.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

One of the hidden gem in Finland and away from the tourist spot. This little restaurant offers a Pacific Rim cuisine that rivals any good restaurants in Hawai'i.
It is highly recommended to make a reservation if you want to dine here since it has a limited sitting. The service is far better than other restaurants that I been around Helsinki. The price is fairly reasonable and the portion is just right. You will never leave hungry if you try this restaurant.

One highly recommended dish is to try the Oxtail Adobo sprinkled with fresh herbs. It has a "broke da mouth" taste that takes me back to the island.

Thanks to Ryan for taking care of me and my wife. It was a pleasant experience and will definitely come back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    12
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Best food/service/price ration in Helsinki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Hoku has always been an enjoyment when it comes to food and service. It's laid back atmosphere invites to return yet again. Pork belly is definitely recommended dish. Make a reservation a to guarantee a seat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great food and service in hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

For starter the salmon tataki and as main Bi Bim Bap. Both were excellent, perfectly prepared and extremely tasty. We woul never have found this place without the good reviews on tripadvisor so now its my turn to spread the word! The place is tiny though, so be sure to book a table in advance!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Excellent japanese cuisine in Helsinki!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

An explosion of taste!! Do not miss this restaurant if you're in Helsinki. The service was excellent and the prices are more than affordable. A reservation is recommended as the restaurant is small and busy. I will definitely come back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in Helsinki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

If you are in Helsinki don't miss the chance to taste some proper japanese food, delicious, tasty and made with the greatest ingredients. The place is small, cosy (booking is recommended): HOKU is just few minutes away from Kampii station and the Radisson Hotel.
You will absolutely love it!
http://www.hoku.fi
Merimiehenkatu 18
00150 Helsinki
tel. +358 40 1646160

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoku also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Hoku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.