We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place worth visiting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hoku

Hoku
Merimiehenkatu 18, Helsinki, Finland
+358-40-164-6160
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 1,066 Restaurants in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Japanese, Hawaiian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A place worth visiting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We were looking for a bit of a change after all the traditional Christmas time meals and decided to try this small restaurant which based on reviews seemed to have excellent food with a cuisine with flavousrs from Hawai and Japan. As starters we chose pork dumplings, the salmon tataki and a calamari salad. All excellent with interesting flavousrs. As main courses we chose the stuffed whitefish and the braised pork belly. Both of them excellent and the only complaint being that both dishes were so generous that it was impossible to sample the deserts.

If you are looking for a casual palce in Helsinki to have dinner and want to try something which is slightly different from the ordinary then find your way to Hoku. I would advise you to book in advance as the place is rather small and seems to very popular-

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    15
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Japanese / Hawaiian Resto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Have tried most of the Japanese / asian fusion resto's in Helsinki since I started working here in July, and this has got to be my favourite. Their menu is short and simple, but the quality is excellent and very authentic. Their salmon and white fish tartar was super fresh and perfectly seasoned (not too salty as I've found at some of the other fusion restos in town). The tonkatsu chicken was perfectly crispy, and they even made their own (excellent) kimchee! Staff were Japanese (always a good sign) and very friendly. Small, cosy casual resto type space.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding food experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

In Hoku i had the best salmon dish i've ever tasted, and i've had salmon all over the world in great restaurants. Chicken was great as well, but try Salmon Teriyaki. You wont regret it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing!! Destination!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I know, Hawavian restaurant on Helsinki sounds odd. But these guys are from Hawaiji, and the dining experience is the best.

We ate Terijaki salmon (with potato salad!!). Best ever.

Beef as an apetizer is amazing too.

Book a table in advance, this restaurant will be a destination!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice new Hawaii restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Have been there now for bought lunch and dinner, very taste food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoku also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Hoku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.