We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May 2014” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Yrjonkadun Swimming Hall

Yrjonkadun Swimming Hall
Yrjonkatu 21, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)
358 9 310 87401
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 148 Attractions in Helsinki
Type: Spas, Health Clubs
Activities: Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Facility offers several varieties of sauna and a splendid art deco pool.
Kajang, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“May 2014”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Cant really rate accurately since It is closed till 31st of August. But it is not provided in their website. So I thought of writing it here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    29
    12
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Swim naked”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

If you like to swim naked and are from a country like Canada, where this only happens in lakes at night then you will love this place. I felt like I was part of some secret all-female society, swimming naked and listening to the sound of water and Finnish bouncing off the walls. If only once in your life...

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Back to the beginning of the 20th century - in a good way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is my favorite swimming hall in Helsinki. I've been there numerous times during the past 10 years, both 1st and 2nd floor. If I want to just swim, I go to the 1st floor, and if I'm with a friend, I definitely want to go to the 2nd floor and enjoy all the saunas and the wonderful cafeteria. I recommend to taste "sima" which is a traditional Finnish drink, kind to between lemonade and sider. Usually we drink it only once a year, on May 1st (Mayday), but here you can buy it all year round. The 2 hour bathing time is easily a bit tight, so don't spend too much time bathing, if you still want to try the cafe.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“No more inhibitions!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

This place is definitely what I would call 'surreal but nice'. I am normally so shy but overcame my inhibitions and went swimming only wearing my goggles! For someone who hasn't even gone topless on the beach before, I really surprised myself. I then sat in the steam room followed by being served a cool drink. This place has to be experienced to appreciate it fully. GO!!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willesden Green, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“That's the way they do it...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Big swimming pool, two sauna(1'floor), relaxing area wooden sauna and other wellbeing treatment(2' floor)
All these on an authentic Finnish sauna environment.
NB: sauna is for men or women only, check the right day in advance

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yrjonkadun Swimming Hall also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Yrjonkadun Swimming Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yrjonkadun Swimming Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.