We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel in the city” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cumulus Kaisaniemi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cumulus Kaisaniemi to your Saves list
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kaisaniemenkatu 7, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 62 Hotels in Helsinki
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice little hotel in the city”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed for one night. The room is small and the bathroom is tiny. The place can get pretty hectic if a group arrives and there is sometimes a long line for the list. The room is basic, small and I don't think I have had such a tiny bathroom before. The toilet, shower and sink and basically all in together. The bed was really comfortable. Breakfast was OK - reasonable choice. The best thing is that it is in the city centre and you can walk to all the sights easily. Service was OK - check in was quite quick and you can buy food/items at the reception.

Room Tip: All seem OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumulus-Kaisaniemi, Manager at Cumulus Kaisaniemi, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear jejeel3,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were quite satisfied with your stay. I do hope we will have the honor to have you as our guest again in Cumulus Kaisaniemi Helsinki.

Sincerely, Kari-Petri Hovi / Hotel Manager / Cumulus Kaisaniemi Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    70
    59
    13
    3
See reviews for
10
56
28
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Certainly this is not a hotel where you will want to stay with a decent budget. The rooms are overpriced (120 EUR / night /person) with an ugly view from the window. The decoration was not satisfactory : no minibar, very cheap table. The heating system was not working properly, and it was cold inside. The television had some problem and the screen was bright after turning off : could not sleep properly. The bathroom was very small, and no curtain to separate shower area, so it was flooded after I took shower.
The receptionist (a guy with an earring) was very cold, did not let me enter my room, sharp before 2.00 pm, and was not in a welcoming mood. Only breakfast and location is more or less satisfactory. But if are willing to pay around 100 EUR, go to some other hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumulus-Kaisaniemi, Manager at Cumulus Kaisaniemi, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear prasenjit1988,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to write us a review. We apologize that you were not satisfied with price level and that you did not receive service with a smile.
Our hotel is proud of the friendly service and quality of its products and for this reason your comments will certainly be looked into and the technical issues in the room have already been forwarded to our maintenence department. During peak season rates can vary daily and also we are not able to to be as flexible with the check in time as we normally would.
Your comments are very important to us and allow us to improve our performance continually. We all hope that should your travel plans bring you back to our area, you will give our hotel another try.
Best regards, Kari-Petri Hovi / Hotel Manager / Cumulus Kaisaniemi Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seinajoki, Finland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Small, nice peaceful and good location. That´s enough to one night stay. If like to there is also rooms without window. During winter time in Finland the window is not needed, because there is anyway dark outside.

Our room was spacious, clean and nice (and without window). Nothing bad to say of room or hotel. Breakfast is standard of Cumulus hotels. You may have to note that parking is bit of expensive (30 euros/day), if you are coming by your own car. I also understood that there is no restaurant in this hotel (lobby bar serves hot dogs night time). But there is good variety of restaurants in the neighborhood, you are in the middle of the Helsinki!

I would choose this hotel another time for a short stay. From the hotel there is only short walk to city center. You can also choose tram, bus or metro to get to the centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We visited Helsinki over 3 days, hotel very good and staff most helpful. Breakfast was good and enough to choose from. Hotel very close to train station and the inner city. Good restaurants also very close by. Must say the Bed was the most comfortable of our whole trip. Also the staff found out we had our 43 wedding anniversary so when we came back from full day out, we found two small bottles of Champaign in our room on ice. A very big thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

It is a OK hotel. Spacious enough. Our room seemed to be dated.
The lobby is a bit small and non-stylish.
Nice breakfast.
Good location. Walking distance to almost all city spots. We even walked to the Rock Church.
Staff were friendly enough.
We could keep our luggage there inside a locked room before room's ready and after check-out.
Dogs were allowed in the hotel.
To sum-up, it's a hotel that gave me a 'don't expect too much' feeling as you get what you've paid for.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulberwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We were visiting our daughter, who is studying in Helsinki. Reception staff were very efficient and friendly, checking us in very quickly. Our twin room was perfectly fine. Comfortable beds and the clouds to look up at!. The wet room/toilet served its purpose more than adequately.
The breakfast buffet was fantastic! A wide range of treats on offer (didn't quite run to the mustard, pickled herring though!). Set us up for a full on day of sightseeing and shopping. The central location was great, meaning you could break up the day (or take shopping back). There were so many places to eat and drink. Really enjoyed a relaxed bottle of wine (17 Euros) at Underground just down the road and a great meal at Mt Everest Nepalese restaurant on Railway Square.
The hotel is very handy for seeing all the major sights. We did a lot of walking to see these, resisting the temptation of using the tram or metro. Those who are not so keen on hoofing it have a plethora of trams/trains/buses to chose from.
For a major city traffic was very quiet and not a hindrance to the visitor.
Don't get me wrong, Helsinki, like the Nordic countries, is expensive, so be prepared to dig deep!
We felt Cumulus Kaisaniemi was good value for a central hotel. We would certainly stay there again!

Room Tip: Upper floors at the front give a street view but are not particularly noisy. Slept really well (Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I needed a single night at a Helsinki hotel, and knew from previous visits that this Cumulus was very near the bus and rail station so decided to give it a go. After a long journey I was greeted with what all travellers want to hear at Reception: 'yes, we are expecting you - welcome!' My small room was clean, had two pillows and a warm duvet on the bed and plenty of hot water in the shower. The breakfast buffet the next morning had a wide selection of tasty food - extra marks for piirakka, yum - and staff kept the dining room clean during meal service. The WiFi signal was strong, with an easy sign-in process. The hotel is very well situated for transport whether one plans to sightsee or is visiting for business. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Cumulus Kaisaniemi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumulus Kaisaniemi

Address: Kaisaniemenkatu 7, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cumulus Kaisaniemi 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel at home at the newly renovated Cumulus Kaisaniemi Helsinki Hotel, with its modern and cosy atmosphere in Helsinki city centre. The hotel's location in the very centre of Helsinki only two blocks from the main railway station and across the street from a metro station makes it easy to reach the Cumulus Kaisaniemi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Cumulus Kaisaniemi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumulus Kaisaniemi Hotel Helsinki
Cumulus Kaisaniemi Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cumulus Kaisaniemi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.