We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cumulus Kaisaniemi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cumulus Kaisaniemi to your Saves list
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kaisaniemenkatu 7, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Lahti, Finland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cheap, excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Been there three times, last time in October. Situated just one block from the railway station. Stuff is friendly and you can watch city view while enjoying breakfast. Sauna times are in the evenings and they are different for men and women, both two hours.

Room Tip: Don't take the cheapest room, it has no window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    64
    53
    12
    2
See reviews for
7
46
28
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We reached this Hotel on a 30th June, 2013 Saturday night at 11pm after a long journey, a long wait at the reception as there was a queue of guests and refreshment seekers, which were being sold by the solo receptionist, we were given a room which had a filthy toilet, the mental trauma caused by the sight will never go away from my mind, we went back to reception immediately, we were then made to go back to the room to show the filth to Ninna (she herself was polite) at the reception after another hour it was decided by her to shift us to another hotel and we had to wait again for a taxi to take us to the Crowne Plaza where we checked in at 2pm. The Cumulus is very tacky and maybe because of its proximity to the station and the hangers on there made my wife and me very uncomfortable!

Room Tip: Don't choose any room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in August 2013. The location is very good in that both the railway station and bus station are very close. its a short walk or tram ride into the City centre. I stayed in an executive/superior room. It was a nice size, spotlessly clean and well appointed. It was quiet as it was located at the rear of the hotel. A colleague who stayed in a room located at the front of the hotel was disturbed by the trams in the main street. The bed was comfy but the duvet was just too heavy and hot. I was a little concerned that the triple glazed windows were bolted shut and I couldn't get any fresh air into the room. The breakfast was good with a varied selection of foods. The dark decor throughout the hotel make the corridors and dining room seem a little gloomy and it would benefit from lighter decor. The wifi was free but you need to ask for individual access codes for each Internet enabled device that you want to connect. It was a little frustrating that the access codes only lasted for 24 hours. So if you stay for more than one night be prepared to have to keep entering codes if you want to stay connected to the Internet. Overall, apart from some minor issues, I found the hotel to be very good, the staff were always helpful and I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Perhaps I'm not the most discerning traveller, but I found this hotel to be quite nice when I stayed here for 2 nights. The location is great, convenient to the central station and many of the attractions downtown. I had the standard room and didn't think it was too small but I can understand others' viewpoints about the living size. The breakfast was quite good and I did like having the sauna at my disposal during the specified times of day. Room and bathroom were clean, bed was comfortable, prices were reasonable for the area....can't really ask for more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is very nicely placed right in the center of Helsinki - the Railway Square is just around the corner. However, location is its primary and almost sole advantage. The hotel building is comparatively old, and it's felt. It could surely do with some in-depth refurbishing. Windows in the rooms are bolted shut, air circulation is available only through central ventilation which is not always adequate. Rooms are quite average, yet clean and well-kept as is the case with practically all hotels in Finland. The hotel is OK for a night's stay, especially on business, but by no means can serve as a romantic get-away or pleasure trip desination.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

right next to the new university library, a great outdoor shop, a fantastic music store, a Metro station and a shopping complex this hotel has the great location to offer. Through the underground shopping centre you are at the citys central station & bus depot in 5 minutes walking time. The Irish pub (and lots of other pubs) are just down the street - two minutes walking time.
The breakfast room has a nice view of the street outside. The breakfast buffet is about standard.
A nice city hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We needed a room for one night when we returned to Helsinki from Tallinn to fly home. During our first visit to Helsinki, we stayed at the Holiday Inn and it was hot. Another traveler had stayed here and recommended it, said it had good a/c and it did.

Hotel is a couple of easy blocks from the train station, had a small lobby, free wifi, a/c, and our rate ($132) included breakfast (which we did not eat as we had to leave the hotel at 3:45 a.m.)!

We had room 626, wooden floors, twin beds, nightstand, TV, 2 chairs, desk, bathroom with hair dryer and glassed-in shower. We are with the others in loving the clouds painted on the ceiling. Our only complaints were the room was very small and the price a little high (we are budget travelers). There was no place to put our bags except under the beds. The a/c was good and the wifi was strong.

Sandy (in Denton)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cumulus Kaisaniemi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumulus Kaisaniemi

Address: Kaisaniemenkatu 7, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cumulus Kaisaniemi 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel at home at the newly renovated Cumulus Kaisaniemi Helsinki Hotel, with its modern and cosy atmosphere in Helsinki city centre. The hotel's location in the very centre of Helsinki only two blocks from the main railway station and across the street from a metro station makes it easy to reach the Cumulus Kaisaniemi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cumulus Kaisaniemi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumulus Kaisaniemi Hotel Helsinki
Cumulus Kaisaniemi Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cumulus Kaisaniemi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.