We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel, well located in Helsinki” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cumulus Kaisaniemi

Save Saved
You added Cumulus Kaisaniemi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kaisaniemenkatu 7, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Reasonable hotel, well located in Helsinki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in August 2013. The location is very good in that both the railway station and bus station are very close. its a short walk or tram ride into the City centre. I stayed in an executive/superior room. It was a nice size, spotlessly clean and well appointed. It was quiet as it was located at the rear of the hotel. A colleague who stayed in a room located at the front of the hotel was disturbed by the trams in the main street. The bed was comfy but the duvet was just too heavy and hot. I was a little concerned that the triple glazed windows were bolted shut and I couldn't get any fresh air into the room. The breakfast was good with a varied selection of foods. The dark decor throughout the hotel make the corridors and dining room seem a little gloomy and it would benefit from lighter decor. The wifi was free but you need to ask for individual access codes for each Internet enabled device that you want to connect. It was a little frustrating that the access codes only lasted for 24 hours. So if you stay for more than one night be prepared to have to keep entering codes if you want to stay connected to the Internet. Overall, apart from some minor issues, I found the hotel to be very good, the staff were always helpful and I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    53
    40
    7
    2
See reviews for
5
40
24
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Perhaps I'm not the most discerning traveller, but I found this hotel to be quite nice when I stayed here for 2 nights. The location is great, convenient to the central station and many of the attractions downtown. I had the standard room and didn't think it was too small but I can understand others' viewpoints about the living size. The breakfast was quite good and I did like having the sauna at my disposal during the specified times of day. Room and bathroom were clean, bed was comfortable, prices were reasonable for the area....can't really ask for more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is very nicely placed right in the center of Helsinki - the Railway Square is just around the corner. However, location is its primary and almost sole advantage. The hotel building is comparatively old, and it's felt. It could surely do with some in-depth refurbishing. Windows in the rooms are bolted shut, air circulation is available only through central ventilation which is not always adequate. Rooms are quite average, yet clean and well-kept as is the case with practically all hotels in Finland. The hotel is OK for a night's stay, especially on business, but by no means can serve as a romantic get-away or pleasure trip desination.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

right next to the new university library, a great outdoor shop, a fantastic music store, a Metro station and a shopping complex this hotel has the great location to offer. Through the underground shopping centre you are at the citys central station & bus depot in 5 minutes walking time. The Irish pub (and lots of other pubs) are just down the street - two minutes walking time.
The breakfast room has a nice view of the street outside. The breakfast buffet is about standard.
A nice city hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We needed a room for one night when we returned to Helsinki from Tallinn to fly home. During our first visit to Helsinki, we stayed at the Holiday Inn and it was hot. Another traveler had stayed here and recommended it, said it had good a/c and it did.

Hotel is a couple of easy blocks from the train station, had a small lobby, free wifi, a/c, and our rate ($132) included breakfast (which we did not eat as we had to leave the hotel at 3:45 a.m.)!

We had room 626, wooden floors, twin beds, nightstand, TV, 2 chairs, desk, bathroom with hair dryer and glassed-in shower. We are with the others in loving the clouds painted on the ceiling. Our only complaints were the room was very small and the price a little high (we are budget travelers). There was no place to put our bags except under the beds. The a/c was good and the wifi was strong.

Sandy (in Denton)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The exterior and parts of the interior are a bit dated, but as far as room comfort, it was very comfortable and spacious for being a standard economy double room (or more likely a triple as there was also a sofa-bed). The breakfast was really good, with plenty of selection and a pleasant atmosphere. This hotel seemed to be very family friendly, but it was great for us (young couple). There is a lift and air-conditioning. You could easily walk to/ from the main train station (approx. 5 mins), or take tram 9 (and perhaps others) just one stop past the main station, it stops right in front of the hotel, making it super convenient. Oh, and the best thing is in fact the ceiling.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 9 days could not have picked better hotel central and staff were lovely and helpful food great room spotless and air con perfect this hotel is in good location handy for everything plenty to choose from at breakfast

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cumulus Kaisaniemi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumulus Kaisaniemi

Address: Kaisaniemenkatu 7, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cumulus Kaisaniemi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel at home at the newly renovated Cumulus Kaisaniemi Helsinki Hotel, with its modern and cosy atmosphere in Helsinki city centre. The hotel's location in the very centre of Helsinki only two blocks from the main railway station and across the street from a metro station makes it easy to reach the Cumulus Kaisaniemi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Cumulus Kaisaniemi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumulus Kaisaniemi Hotel Helsinki
Cumulus Kaisaniemi Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cumulus Kaisaniemi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.