We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Cathedral” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uspenski Cathedral (Uspenskin Katedraali)

Uspenski Cathedral (Uspenskin Katedraali)
Kanavakatu 1, Helsinki, Finland (Taka-Töölö)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 129 Attractions in Helsinki
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Beautiful Cathedral”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This orthodox cathedral is so beautiful inside. There are quite nice views from the outdoors as it is located on a small hill.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    303
    78
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tashkent, Uzbekistan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“very flawless, i cannot review a cathedral, it is jaw dropping, stunning, it is everlasting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I loved it, it is sooooo beautiful. The area around was quite, not overcrowded place, but gorgeous. I could not take my eyes off the cathedral and cannot express it in words.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Didn't get to see the inside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

It's pretty, good for photos, but it was locked the day we were there so I was very disappointed we didn't get to see the inside. It's a bit of an uphill hike to get there, but not a big deal. I was hoping for great views once there, but wasn't too impressed.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

A wonderful cathedral, up many steps, and it's worth attending a service. The choir is small but excellent and services are very heartfelt and moving.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“My compass!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Due to the size of the church, it acted as my compass when I was wandering around Helsinki. I could see it from almost anywhere around the city center.
I've been to a similar one in Tampere and I thought there was nothing special inside so I didn't come in; however, looking at all the photos taken inside now, I really regret not dragging my lazy butt up there to get inside the church. Well, next time then!!!
Just cannot miss this one!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uspenski Cathedral (Uspenskin Katedraali) also viewed

 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Uspenski Cathedral (Uspenskin Katedraali)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uspenski Cathedral (Uspenskin Katedraali), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.