We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don Giovanni as seducing as ever, seats not so...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Finnish National Opera (Suomen Kansallisooppera)

Finnish National Opera (Suomen Kansallisooppera)
Helsinginkatu 58, Helsinki 00251 , Finland (Taka-Töölö)
358 9 4030 2211
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 148 Attractions in Helsinki
Type: Operas
Attraction Details
Ylojarvi, Finland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Don Giovanni as seducing as ever, seats not so...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The performers were marvellous, the acoustics great, the seats a bit uncomfy and the toilet queues a nightmare. The intermission service was excellent, provided you'd reserved and paid for it beforehand. Definitely something not to miss for classic music lovers - but Tampere talo beats it with flying colours in convenience and cosiness.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    15
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amersham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Modern Opera House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

If you are an Opera lover, do give it a visit. The building and location itself are inspiiring. I saw L'Elisir d'Amore last year and Der Rosen Cavalier this year. Sung in original language with subtitles above the procnium Arch.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great opera and ballet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Since we have seasonal tickets we go there quite many times a year. This season's last for us was Peer Gynt ballet. It was beautiful for both eyes and ears.

The opera building itself is not so thrilling outside but the interior is really cool. The location is perfect. It is by Töölö bay. The view from the foyer is beautiful.

It is recommended to reserve a table in advance if you like to have something refreshing during the intermission and enjoy the view. Tables are usually fully booked in advance.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Regular visitor enjoying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I go to the National Opera 5-10 times a year, and the latest I saw/heard was La Boheme. I would have given it 5 stars, but in the past not all operas have been as good. Although I must say, that the level has been very good in the past years, no real disappointments I can recall. Haven't been much to the ballets in the past years, but the Lumikuningatar (Snow queen) was excellent - choreography, music, outfits, everything. I highly recommend it. My favorite place to sit is on the second floor, since the view is very good there, and you don't have to look up to see the subtitles, and not to mention the prices are a bit cheaper, too. I've been to the 3rd floor, too, and the music is great there, but you can't see the back of the stage so well. Luckily usually most of the things happen on the front of the stage, so it's not really a problem. The "worst" seats (in my opinion) are in the back of the 1st floor (the ceiling does something to the music and you pay the most expensive price) and the sides of the 3rd floor (you have to sit like on a toilet to be able to see anything). Other than that the seats are quite okay.

I highly recommend ordering the coffee and bakings in advance from the handy web pages of Kanresta. You get a table with everything served, and don't have to queue. Also you pay in advance through the internet, which is very handy.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“La Boheme”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

An enjoyable production! Very good orchestra, conductor and singers. Many things happen on the stage, and it's not a bad idea to try to get seats near the front to see the details (yes, I know, the music experience is better farther back, but you can't have everything).

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finnish National Opera (Suomen Kansallisooppera) also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Finnish National Opera (Suomen Kansallisooppera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finnish National Opera (Suomen Kansallisooppera), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.