We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty building” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Senate Square (Senaatintori)

Senate Square (Senaatintori)
Aleksanterinkatu/Hallituskatu, Helsinki, Finland (Vironniemi)
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$37*
and up
Helsinki Audio City Tour
Ranked #12 of 130 Attractions in Helsinki
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Attraction details
Williamsville, NY
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Pretty building”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Maybe worth a 30 minute visit. The building is interesting, but I'd not go out of my way to visit. Not a place to bring children, but if you like architecture, you will enjoy it

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    251
    96
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
HCMC
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Very majestic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The square is a typically majestic square that you would expect from a rich European nation. In the snow and the dark winter nights it had a charm that I found delightful having spent the last year in tropical weather in countries that seem to revel in pulling down there older structures in favour of modern glass and steel buildings.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Meeting Point!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

It was very busy when we went. It seemed to be the meeting point for the Finns.

Beautifully designed and plenty of step to sit on after a looooong day shopping with the wife

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Christmas Market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We went there for the Christmas Market and was fascinated with the variety of goods and food that we saw there.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“good place to meet people or celebrate New Year Eve :-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I celebrated the New Year Eve there and it was very nice and modest event. The people had fun and they weren't very drunk (perhaps they kept celebrating on the streets :-)), so it was pretty safe. Nice place in the middle of the city. I suppose it is even more nice during the summer time.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Senate Square (Senaatintori) also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Senate Square (Senaatintori)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senate Square (Senaatintori), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.