We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more than just a station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Railway Station (Rautatieasema)

The Railway Station (Rautatieasema)
Kaivokatu, Helsinki 00077, Finland
358 09 4766 4000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 130 Attractions in Helsinki
Type: Architectural Buildings, Landmarks
Attraction details
Scot in London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Much more than just a station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

One of the most beautiful stations I've ever seen! Don't just walk through it but look carefully, inside and out, including the ticket hall - and look up or you'll miss half of it. And don't miss the 'giants' outside as well.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    138
    72
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, CO
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“We'll thought out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The train station is centrally located in the city center of Helsinki. Well thought out terminals and flow. Easy of use is incredible.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti, Finland
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“One of my favourite railway station”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is important landmark of Helsinki, and I visit there at least once per week. I like its architecture and atmosphere. However, sometimes you have to be very careful there. Go to the ticket office, and visit also in old restaurant that is nowadays huge Burger King. Yes, world is changing and this railway station too. Maybe you can find a spirit of Helsinki there. I truly like it.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
256 attraction reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

It is a bit of an odd building. It's like a hybrid of old architecture with new. The information centre is there and there is some restaurants and cafes. The menus are writtten in Finnish and Russian. There are some nice big halls. It's good to have a look around. The bus to and from the airport stops here too.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Architectural gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

OK, it's a railway station but the style is wonderful. A small building, by international big city standards, it is well worth a visit. To my uneducated eye it looked 'Art Deco' but I later read it was 'Art Nouveau'. Whatever the labels, it's everso nice !
Apparently it was voted 'One of the worlds most beautiful railway stations' by the BBC in 2013.
I used the trains several times. They are clean, efficient and most comfortable.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Railway Station (Rautatieasema) also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to The Railway Station (Rautatieasema)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Railway Station (Rautatieasema), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.