We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more than just a station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Railway Station (Rautatieasema)

The Railway Station (Rautatieasema)
Kaivokatu, Helsinki 00077, Finland
358 09 4766 4000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$30*
and up
Helsinki Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #29 of 243 things to do in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Scot in London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Much more than just a station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

One of the most beautiful stations I've ever seen! Don't just walk through it but look carefully, inside and out, including the ticket hall - and look up or you'll miss half of it. And don't miss the 'giants' outside as well.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    222
    108
    14
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“We'll thought out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The train station is centrally located in the city center of Helsinki. Well thought out terminals and flow. Easy of use is incredible.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti, Finland
Level Contributor
166 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“One of my favourite railway station”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is important landmark of Helsinki, and I visit there at least once per week. I like its architecture and atmosphere. However, sometimes you have to be very careful there. Go to the ticket office, and visit also in old restaurant that is nowadays huge Burger King. Yes, world is changing and this railway station too. Maybe you can find a spirit of Helsinki there. I truly like it.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
320 reviews
261 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

It is a bit of an odd building. It's like a hybrid of old architecture with new. The information centre is there and there is some restaurants and cafes. The menus are writtten in Finnish and Russian. There are some nice big halls. It's good to have a look around. The bus to and from the airport stops here too.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Architectural gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

OK, it's a railway station but the style is wonderful. A small building, by international big city standards, it is well worth a visit. To my uneducated eye it looked 'Art Deco' but I later read it was 'Art Nouveau'. Whatever the labels, it's everso nice !
Apparently it was voted 'One of the worlds most beautiful railway stations' by the BBC in 2013.
I used the trains several times. They are clean, efficient and most comfortable.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Railway Station (Rautatieasema) also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to The Railway Station (Rautatieasema)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Railway Station (Rautatieasema), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.