We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finnish history in a nutshell” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mannerheim Museum

Mannerheim Museum
Kallionlinnantie 14, Helsinki 00140, Finland
358 0 9 635 443
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$48*
and up
Helsinki Card
Ranked #2 of 130 Attractions in Helsinki
Type: Historic Sites, Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Finnish history in a nutshell”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

If it's raining GO HERE it's indoors ! This takes an hour or so and in that time you will see the history of Finland & its independence from Russia in a nutshell. If you're interested in medals ... Mannerhaim had almost everything, if you like firearms, you'll drool @ his gun cabinets, if you like books, look in his study ! TAKE THE TOUR ... You will learn things about European history 1915-1950 that will blow your mind !

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    21
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Mannerheim Museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We toured from a cruise ship so we were more or less whisked through here. Take some time to really get to know the museum. There is some interesting art here.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mannerheim rocks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

First of all, Finnish people are THE NICEST people I have ever met. They are very polite and enthusiastic. We arrived at the museum only 20 minutes before it was closing time but we were received like it was 10 am. It is free with the Helsinki card. You have a guide that guides you through the museum and tells you everything you have to know about Mannerheim. The museum is basically the house of Mannerheim but you get a really nice sight of his life with what the guide tells you. In the end you get a CD with information about him. Worth a visit because the guides are passionate about what they do and you can feel it and share the passion they have for Mannerheim.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Take a walk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

If it is a good weather take a nice walk to Kaivopuisto park from the centrum. Museum is near the park. There are some nice places for coffee at seaside near the museum.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Mannerheim's house - worth visiting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I loved the museum. I didn't expect it to be so interesting. The ticket included a guided tour. I do not remember the guide's name, unfortunately, but the English-speaking girl was very very nice and very knowledgeable.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mannerheim Museum also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Mannerheim Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mannerheim Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.