We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entry denied” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Linnanmaki Amusement Park

Linnanmaki Amusement Park
Linnanmaki, Helsinki, Finland (Vironniemi)
10 5722 200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 150 Attractions in Helsinki
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks
Attraction Details
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Entry denied”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Entry was denied to the whole park area because there was one bottle of beer in backbag intended to be brought back home. Security told that on such a hot day no alcoholic beverages can be brought to the area and that there is no cloakroom. The only options offered were to leave the backbag outside the park area unguarded or the hide the rather expensive bottle of beer in the surroundings. I found this so ridiculous I cannot even find a word for it. The funniest thing is that you can store your backbag inside the park area, but I wasn't even given this opportunity because I was denied entering the park area.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    86
    32
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Joensuu, Finland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Time just flew here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

What can I say, this place is amazing. You can easily spent here a whole day. The prices at the restaurants are a bit expensive but other than that I have no complaints. Fun place to mess up your head and stomach!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lohja, Finland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“FREE RIDES FOR KIDS!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

so i grew up within an hour of both Disneyland and 6Flags so iam jaded, i know. that being said, the coolest thing about this place is the FREE RIDES FOR KIDS! actually awesome if you a toddler like us. serisouly free fun. otherwise, the rest of the park is just average and a bit better than the one in tampere. however, the sealife exhibit is worth a visit as it is quite impressive to have such quality of such a thing so high up on the globe
food: really expensive and basic. eat out of the park if yo ucan

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“thrills and spills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Amusement park doesn't fully capture the high octane rides, the wooden rollercoaster from the 1950s and still riding high! The haunted house spooky but a wee bit of a short ride. There are lots of places to wind down, eat and drink before you lose yet more lives on the rides of your life. It can be expensive to get in but then all rides are free otherwise pay as you go but this is a much more expensive way to do it...

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great rides, horrible food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

At 39€ per day-pass regardless of age, this is bound to become a full day visit to make it worth your while. But you can. It's a great combination of classic and contemporary rides. The all time favourite is the 1951 wooden roller coaster with spectacular views over the city at the top. Generally the queues are tolerable even on a busy day. But because you're here for a full day, you'll have to eat something. The food offered is bad and pricy (the waffles just pricy). But if you don't want to carry your own picnic basket around and plan well, you can find a decent restaurant outside the premises of the park, eat well, and return a bit later for seconds on your favourite rides. But I would advise to avoid the restaurants. The park's profits go to child welfare charity.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Linnanmaki Amusement Park also viewed

 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Linnanmaki Amusement Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linnanmaki Amusement Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.