We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good days' fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Linnanmaki Amusement Park

Linnanmaki Amusement Park
Linnanmaki, Helsinki, Finland
10 5722 200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 129 Attractions in Helsinki
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Amusement Parks
Attraction details
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A good days' fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The park is free to enter and there are many free rides most of which are for kids I suspect as all signs were only in Finnish. You can either buy separate one ride tickets for 7 euro each or an entry to all rides armband for 37 euro. So if you are planning on riding over 6 rides it is worth getting the armband. There are also reduced ticket prices for coming in in the last 4 hours.
There about 4 big rides whose lines are obviously longer than the smaller ones but n the whole the wait time was not to long.
Well worth the trip and its proximity to the Olympic village made it easy to tie into a day of sight seeing. Also the trams stop close to the entrance which makes it easy to get to and home from, especially if wet (from the log and water raft rides).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    93
    37
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naantali, Finland
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Ok place for family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Spent full 8 hours with my 8 year old girl here. Finding a parking place was a real nuisance but finally found it about 300 metres away as the park's own places were full. Getting in here is free which after you'll can buy single rides or get everything with one pass. It wasn't too expensive, 38 euros each. There are plenty of rides available in a very small area but unfortunately some of the rides forbidden for under 140cm were definitely not that bad and my girl was only 125cm. Anyway enough of action available, max 45min queues for some rides despite of place being packed. Food was as usual not that very good but expensive it was. There were some high-end restaurants available but they had overpriced their selection.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Always a fun day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

First of all, admission to the park is free which is great. They also have many rides for children that are free of charge, which I find awesome. Linnanmäki has over 40 rides, more than in any other amusement park in the Nordic countries, so it's pretty big too.

They have a lot of things you should try at least once -some of the rides are worth trying more. I have been to this park almost every year and I still am not bored with it. My favourite rides are called "Kirnu" (rollercoaster), Ukko (also rollercoaster), "Raketti", which is known as "Space shot" (it shoots you up very fast) and "Vekkula" ( fun house type of thing). Then they have other rollercoasters both outside and inside, that are pretty nice and couple water rides, where you will get wet! They also have a lot of silly slow rides, like circus doll house and haunted house, which isn't scray at all and both of them are worth the ride just to see how silly they are!' Then they have 4D short movie theater, Sea Life, sightseeing tower and a lot of more rides.

They don't really have any REALLY scary rides but they have a lot of good stuff so I would definately recommend this park to everybody and its one of my favorite amusement parks I have ever been to. Food isn't bad either, i always find something for me to eat. One thing they could have is more healthy food options.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Traditional amusement park, bring your own food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Linnanmäki is a traditional amusment park with many attractions on a small area. The entrance is free, but if you intend to take more than a few rides you should by a day ticket. Some of the attractions for small children are free of charge, but be prepared for long lines. The most popular rides for small children are _not_ for free. However, the food service is quite limited, mostly junk food, and the restaurant Kattila is not a food court place, although it pretends to be one. The service there and the quality of food is not worth the price or the wait. So bring your own food or eat junk from the other places. If you have a stroller or pram you should be prepared to take the long way around, there are many stairs.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lappeenranta, Finland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Significant part of Helsinki's past and present”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Linnanmäki is not the biggest amusement park in the world, not even the biggest in Finland, but sometimes, the size doesn't matter. Linnanmäki is a place for fun and thrill, no matter how old you are.

First of all, the entrance is free. There are also quite a good selection of free rides for young children and also a ride called panorama, which allows you to take a good look of Helsinki's skyline. It's also for free. All in all, the area is beautiful and well maintained so if you're on a budget, you can still enjoy the park for free. It's a good place to just hang out and have fun.

But if you're looking for some thrill, I recommend the bracelet-like ticket which allows you to go in any ride you want. (Mind you, some of the rides have height limits and if you're a big person, you might have difficulties in fitting in the seats) The tickets are quite expensive, for example Isohupi (for over 140cm tall people) is 37€ but you can use it the whole day, as much as you want. Also, some of the profit goes to charity.

When we visited Linnanmäki, it was a lovely, warm, summery day. Yet still, the lines were reasonable and you got to the rides relatively quickly. Only rides that you really had to wait in line were Ukko, the newest and scariest "rollercoaster", and Vonkaputous, a rollercoaster that rides into a big pool of water. The lines were also long because both of them had only one cars that fitted only few people in them.

I think that there is such a variety with the rides that everyone finds something for themselves. I, even as an (young) adult, really found the park exciting and also somehow nostalgic as I've been there many times as a kid.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Linnanmaki Amusement Park also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Linnanmaki Amusement Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linnanmaki Amusement Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.