We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nor worthed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Helsinki Zoo (Korkeasaari Elaintarha)

Helsinki Zoo (Korkeasaari Elaintarha)
Korkeasaari Island, Helsinki, Finland
09/169-5969
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$30*
and up
Helsinki Sightseeing Cruise
Ranked #23 of 130 Attractions in Helsinki
Attraction details
Naples, Italy
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“nor worthed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

the trip is nice, but is overpriced 18euros per person
the zoo is on an island, everything there costs double. most of the animals were not visible..

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    109
    58
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Cozy zoo located on an island with great atmosphere and amazing views. Animals are clean and quite happy.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Small zoo with few animals”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

A small zoo with few animals. In some of the exhibitions it is difficult to observe the animals. But it is still a decent way to spend a few hours in Helsinki.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Nice island zoo with some great animals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Pretty setting, you walk over a bridge or take the ferry, the zoo is on one island right in front of Helsinki city center. Some pretty buildings on the island. Quite a lot of walking, not good for disabled. Many animals are interesting and rare. Some indoors (like the tropical species) but most outdoors (at least in summertime). Takes about 3-4 hrs to walk through and have lunch or coffee outdoors. Very nice place. Entrance fee inexpensive (10€ for adults and 7€ for retired with S bonus card and prior purchase on the internet - costs more at the zoo itself). Many picnic tables around the island, also 2-3 BBQ places and indoor seating for eating your own food.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
136 attraction reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere but expensive.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We got the boat over which was nice on the sunny day we visited. I understand there is a bus option but takes longer. It is quite pricey at 18 euros each for both the boat ride and entrance since it's only a small zoo. The collection does represent Finnish animals as well as those from other countries so a fairly varied collection. We saw quite a few different animals including scarlet ibis, raccoon, leopard, tiger and a red panda eating. We bought food but it was expensive and not particularly nice so I would recommend taking your own. The atmosphere is nice but it was busy and there are not enough toilets! We are glad we visited but we wouldn't necessarily return.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Helsinki Zoo (Korkeasaari Elaintarha) also viewed

 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Helsinki Zoo (Korkeasaari Elaintarha)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helsinki Zoo (Korkeasaari Elaintarha), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.