We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic accommodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stadion Hostel

Save Saved
You added Stadion Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stadion Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Pohjoinen Stadiontie 4, Helsinki 00250, Finland (Taka-Töölö)   |  
Hotel amenities
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very basic accommodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stadion Hostel is located in a very pretty area, but if you are travelling via public transport with more than a backpack, be prepared for a bit of a walk from the tram. The signage from the main road is great, but signage for the entrance isn't visable from the street, so you have to keep walking into a carpark before you'll find the door.

Staff were lovely and helpful, and linen and a towel are included in the price of the room. Signage for the rooms is also lacking, and I ended up having to ask a cleaner for directions as my room number wasn't listed on any of the posters in the corridors.

The dorm I stayed in was large and clean, not too crowded, and with huge windows. Each bed had a reading light and power points, and there are small lockers in the room.

The showers were fine, but be warned that they are communal. This didn't bother me, but I didn't like the fact that the door to the dressing area opens into a corridor, so there was litle privacy when people were changing and others came in to shower.

Having wifi restricted to the breakfast area and lobby was a pain, as there were large groups of loud people in each area as I was trying to book the next leg of my trip. Having stayed in so many hostels where wifi is available at least in all of the common areas, if not in the rooms themselves, I don't understand why a hostel would choose to restrict access to such a small space.

My stafe was comfortable, and the place felt clean and safe, which are my main requirements of a hostel, but I guess I was expecting a lot more from a hostel under the HI branding.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    28
    53
    6
    7
See reviews for
1
16
43
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

what do you expect from a hostel? super-friendly helpful staff, tidy rooms, clean bathing facilities, well-equipped kitchen, airy dining room, lots of interesting people to talk to in the evenings and cheap prices. You'll find it all in this hostel. We stayed there for just one night but there were tourists who stayed for two weeks. We paid only 58 euros for a double. When I saw the bathroom I thought it looked like showers in public swimming pools and it could be uncomfortable to crowd with other people. But every time I used it - I was alone so it was fine. The kitchen is very nice with four cookers and a microwave. Some hostellers cooked rather sophisticated foods, but we preferred to buy ready-made products in the supermarket nearby. The staff is super-friendly as I said - just ask them - they will gladly tell you about everything you want to know.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Hostel is good for small budjet travellers. Rooms are fine, but beds are slightly uncomfortable. Dining room and TV room are i good condition. Check-in times are flexible and you can stay longer if there is room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

If you plan to stay in Helsinki for only 2-3 days (and spend them by whole-day sightseeing, using hostel only for sleeping), you can choose Stadion Hostel. It looks outdated, there is only a limited space in the room (we stayed in the room for 3 people), no washstand. Shared bathrooms were clean and usable. We were able to connect to wifi on the first floor. The location of the hostel is quiet and in walking distance (10 min) to Sibelius Monument and Cafe Regatta. To city center it takes 10 min by tram. It isn't that terrible, though it is nothing special...just a typical hostel...

Room Tip: On the first floor we were able to connect to wifi and the rooms seemed to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Typical hostel with your huge rooms with 10 beds and shared bathrooms that aren't super clean. If you're on a budget and traveling solo, this might be the best deal in town, but if you're willing to spend a couple eurosmore, look for other hostels in a better location. This hostel was pretty hard to find because it's behind the Olympic stadium. For a hostel with that many beds, the bathrooms are problematic. It seemed like there really were only three toilets and two showers for women, but maybe I missed something? WiFi only works in the reception area, and there's nothing around in the immediate neighborhood. The mattresses and pillows were not very clean, but at least the sheets and towel were fine. The room was spacious, but all of the facilities need an upgrade. Start with building more bathrooms!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Don't bother staying here, it's so old and basic, the Internet only works in the lobby, the showers are terrible with hardly any privacy, the beds are like children's beds and the pillows are rubbish. The staff are not very friendly.
The shared kitchen is one you would expect on a fishing boat in the arctic.
Also the people that stay here are not friendly and are mostly Russian and will ignore you.
The tv room had a drunk man asleep in there.
Stay away!!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StadionHostel, Front Office Manager at Stadion Hostel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Elskan M,

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

I would just like to comment on a few points you mentioned.

We have a free WiFi in the lobby and the breakfast room, and additionally 2 internet-connected computers in the breakfast room. This is also mentioned on our website.

I am not sure what is meant by children’s beds, but we have standard bunk beds in our dormitories.

Good customer service is one of our main priorities. Without any specific information about the kind of service you received it is hard for me to comment on this in more detail. I can only apologise if there has been a problem with the standard of customer service during your stay.

Our guests come from all over the world and only last month we had visitors from 62 different countries. It is true that Finland is geographically located next to Russia and, as in all the other hotels and hostels in Helsinki, many of our guests are Russian. We value them just as much as any other nationality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is a decent hostel. Very spacious dorms and quite a few nice areas to hang out. Location isn't great but it is walking distance into the centre (15-20 mins). It does feel a outdated in certain areas compared to modern hostels mainly because of the basic hardboard-type of wood in the corridors. There's a bit of artwork on the walls - it would be a great improvement if that was extended to include all the communal areas and corridors - just to give the place a brighter, cooler, traveller-friendly vibe. Staff seemed okay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Charming, City...
Show More
Scandic Paasi
Scandic Paasi
#3 of 66 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
Bar/Lounge, Res...
Show More
Vironniemi
Eurohostel
Eurohostel
#8 of 23 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Lodge, 2-star...
Show More
CheapSleep Helsinki
CheapSleep Helsinki
#11 of 23 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostel, Lodge...
Show More
Kampinmalmi
Hostel Erottajanpuisto
Hostel Erottajanpuisto
#3 of 23 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Lodge, Independ...
Show More
Hostel Suomenlinna
Hostel Suomenlinna
#7 of 23 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Lodge, Budget...
Show More
Kampinmalmi
Hostel Academica
Hostel Academica
#6 of 23 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stadion Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stadion Hostel

Address: Pohjoinen Stadiontie 4, Helsinki 00250, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Taka-Töölö
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Specialty lodging in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stadion Hostel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stadion Hostel offers travellers cheap accommodation at the Helsinki Olympic Stadium, close to the heart of Helsinki and its sights. The Hostel offers shared accommodation to those looking for adventure and low prices, and smaller rooms to those who value privacy. All the rooms in Stadion Hostel are non-smoking.Our services:- Breakfast available at an extra charge- Free parking- Free internet-connected computers and WiFi- Self-catering kitchen- Security lockers- Laundry- 24-hour Reception- Information on Helsinki- Vending machines- TV lounge- Luggage storage- Good transport connections to city centre- Group reservations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Stadion Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadion Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stadion Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.