We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for small budjet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stadion Hostel

Save Saved
You added Stadion Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stadion Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Pohjoinen Stadiontie 4, Helsinki 00250, Finland (Taka-Töölö)   |  
Hotel amenities
Tampere, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good for small budjet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Hostel is good for small budjet travellers. Rooms are fine, but beds are slightly uncomfortable. Dining room and TV room are i good condition. Check-in times are flexible and you can stay longer if there is room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    28
    53
    6
    7
See reviews for
1
16
43
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

If you plan to stay in Helsinki for only 2-3 days (and spend them by whole-day sightseeing, using hostel only for sleeping), you can choose Stadion Hostel. It looks outdated, there is only a limited space in the room (we stayed in the room for 3 people), no washstand. Shared bathrooms were clean and usable. We were able to connect to wifi on the first floor. The location of the hostel is quiet and in walking distance (10 min) to Sibelius Monument and Cafe Regatta. To city center it takes 10 min by tram. It isn't that terrible, though it is nothing special...just a typical hostel...

Room Tip: On the first floor we were able to connect to wifi and the rooms seemed to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Typical hostel with your huge rooms with 10 beds and shared bathrooms that aren't super clean. If you're on a budget and traveling solo, this might be the best deal in town, but if you're willing to spend a couple eurosmore, look for other hostels in a better location. This hostel was pretty hard to find because it's behind the Olympic stadium. For a hostel with that many beds, the bathrooms are problematic. It seemed like there really were only three toilets and two showers for women, but maybe I missed something? WiFi only works in the reception area, and there's nothing around in the immediate neighborhood. The mattresses and pillows were not very clean, but at least the sheets and towel were fine. The room was spacious, but all of the facilities need an upgrade. Start with building more bathrooms!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Don't bother staying here, it's so old and basic, the Internet only works in the lobby, the showers are terrible with hardly any privacy, the beds are like children's beds and the pillows are rubbish. The staff are not very friendly.
The shared kitchen is one you would expect on a fishing boat in the arctic.
Also the people that stay here are not friendly and are mostly Russian and will ignore you.
The tv room had a drunk man asleep in there.
Stay away!!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StadionHostel, Front Office Manager at Stadion Hostel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Elskan M,

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

I would just like to comment on a few points you mentioned.

We have a free WiFi in the lobby and the breakfast room, and additionally 2 internet-connected computers in the breakfast room. This is also mentioned on our website.

I am not sure what is meant by children’s beds, but we have standard bunk beds in our dormitories.

Good customer service is one of our main priorities. Without any specific information about the kind of service you received it is hard for me to comment on this in more detail. I can only apologise if there has been a problem with the standard of customer service during your stay.

Our guests come from all over the world and only last month we had visitors from 62 different countries. It is true that Finland is geographically located next to Russia and, as in all the other hotels and hostels in Helsinki, many of our guests are Russian. We value them just as much as any other nationality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is a decent hostel. Very spacious dorms and quite a few nice areas to hang out. Location isn't great but it is walking distance into the centre (15-20 mins). It does feel a outdated in certain areas compared to modern hostels mainly because of the basic hardboard-type of wood in the corridors. There's a bit of artwork on the walls - it would be a great improvement if that was extended to include all the communal areas and corridors - just to give the place a brighter, cooler, traveller-friendly vibe. Staff seemed okay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

My husband and I chose a private room with shared bathroom - they only have bunk beds in these rooms, no double beds, but no problem. It was the cheapest option for us in a very expensive city. We still found the price to be much higher than it should have been (50 euros for a hostel room with bunk beds?) but the room was bright and clean and nicely decorated.

The hostel is a little way out of the city but not as far as I thought it would be from the number of people complaining about it - we only rode the tram into town a couple of times, the rest we walked. It's a short 20 min walk down an easy main street (Mannerheimvagen) to get into town and once you're there everythings very close and all around you. It's a great city to do on foot, and this hostels location is fine for that - you can even check things off your sightseeing list ON the way into town (the opera house, the national museum and don't miss the weird but beautiful 'rock church' which is just a short de-tour off this main road!)

The hostels facilities are fine. Good sized shared kitchen downstairs where we made our own breakfast each morning (there's a little supermarket only 10 mins walk away on that main road if you want supplies) and the shared bathroom was large and clean. Hostel was nice and quiet at night which was good - we appreciated the noise curfew. Curtains in our room did nothing to stop the intense lighting outside from coming in . . . . . So I took an extra bed sheet from the rack at reception and pegged this up over the curtain. Now a dark room, problem solved :-)

The main reason I gave this hostel 4 stars and not 3 though, is because of the incredibly helpful staff we met during our stay. My favourite was the lovely girl working when we checked in (I should have asked for her name - was on Wed 26th March). When I asked her for advice on where we could go out to eat nearby that wouldn't break the bank, she proceeded to do half an hours research on the internet for me before giving me a list of options all within walking distance and all within our tight budget.
Above and beyond if you ask me. And as long as there are great people like that working here, this hostel will always do well.

Tip: If you need to get to the hostel from the airport, don't take the combination of the airport public bus (5 euros) to the city centre and then the number 7 tram (3 euros) like we did. You'll find it cheaper just taking the 'Finnair city bus' (for 6.30 euros) and get off at the opera house and walk the 5 or 10 mins from there up to the hostel.

Room Tip: If you're going for a 2 person private room, ask for number 5! It was brilliant due to it being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I come back to the hostel at 4.30 a.m. from the party. The guy at reception meet me with a terrible speech. He said, that it is unacceptable behavior. It was really rude. He didn't gave me a towel and he gave me a key to the room other that I'd booked. He explained that it is only about my late coming. On my floor there was not women's bathroom.
But, anyway, other stuff was really nice. They answered to all my questions and they was really helpful.
Eventually, in the future I will never return to this hostel

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StadionHostel, Front Office Manager at Stadion Hostel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Arina P,
I am sorry to hear that you had a problem when returning to the hostel at night. It seems that there has been a misunderstanding between yourself and the receptionist.

The hostel has "silent hours" from 11pm until 7am to guarantee a good night's sleep for guests, and we do not check in new guests into dormitory rooms after 1am (without a very good reason) so that the other guests in the room will not be disturbed by the newcomer when s/he starts making the bed. Otherwise we do not have a curfew and guests who have checked in earlier and made up their bed etc. can go out at night and come back at any time, although we obviously ask them to be as quiet as possible in order not to wake up the others.

The receptionist in question thought that you had not been given your room key yet and that you had not been to your room yet. This is why he gave you a key to a room that was almost empty so that there would be as little disturbance as possible to other guests.

Towels are included in our rates and they can be asked for at Reception.

At the moment, there is some work being done to the downstairs ladies' shower and unfortunately that shower room is currently out of use. We do have another ladies' shower upstairs, though.
We do not have any reason to give our guests a "speech" if there is no problem with their behaviour and our receptionist was very surprised to hear that you had thought that he had not liked your behaviour.

I regret that you felt that you were being criticised but this was definitely not the case. It was just all about a misunderstanding and the receptionist's wish not to disturb other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stadion Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stadion Hostel

Address: Pohjoinen Stadiontie 4, Helsinki 00250, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Taka-Töölö
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Specialty lodging in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stadion Hostel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stadion Hostel offers travellers cheap accommodation at the Helsinki Olympic Stadium, close to the heart of Helsinki and its sights. The Hostel offers shared accommodation to those looking for adventure and low prices, and smaller rooms to those who value privacy. All the rooms in Stadion Hostel are non-smoking.Our services:- Breakfast available at an extra charge- Free parking- Free internet-connected computers and WiFi- Self-catering kitchen- Security lockers- Laundry- 24-hour Reception- Information on Helsinki- Vending machines- TV lounge- Luggage storage- Good transport connections to city centre- Group reservations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Stadion Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadion Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stadion Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.