We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable , Right in the Centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotelli Finn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotelli Finn to your Saves list
Hotelli Finn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kalevankatu 3 B, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Jaipur, India
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable , Right in the Centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

If you are looking at staying in the city centre, it doesn't get more central then this. The central railway station, bus station and big malls are all walking distance.Its a non-nonsense kind of place to stay. Here are the pros & cons

+Positives
-Close to all means of public transportation.
-Lots of restaurants & bars in close proximity.
-Malls & Supermarkets for shopping close by.
-Close to the design district & other attractions
-Clean rooms & friendly staff
-Elevator to rooms floors

-Negatives
-No air-conditioning or fans in the rooms. In the summer can get a little stuffy.
-If you open the windows, the street below is a noisy.
-Rooms not too large.

Room Tip: Choose rooms not facing the street. They should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    167
    75
    19
    7
See reviews for
40
99
83
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Staff is very friendly and helpful. Room is not very big, but I was the only one so it was quite okay. Beds are, in fact, more comfortable than in most hotels I've visited in my life. In summer it's noisy on the street so only asking for quiet room helps. I liked a lot the approach to cleaning - room is subject of cleaning ONLY by request, I found that idea very eco-friendly.
The only one negative experience was the smell in the bathroom, probably due to a shower curtain. I hope they'll do something about it.

Room Tip: Always ask for 'quiet' room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

From the friendly reception staff to the ideal location, this hotel suited our budget. The room was small but it catered for our needs, we loved the quirky lift & recycled room decorations. There was a downside though it was a warm day and the room had no air conditioning a simple fan would have been enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Finn starting from the early check-in (thank you, Lauri), a nice room on the 5th floor, free high-quality pot-made tea. The girl at the reception was very friendly and offered practical advice about the restaurant for the late-night meal . The discounted breakfast at the next door restaurant Kiila was good, too. We also had lunch there on the following day.The hotel is very central, close to the bus and tram lines to take you to other parts of the city.Traffic can be quite noisy at times. The interior of the room is quite minimalistic, but has a modern designer touch and beds were comfortable. A small lift was fun, but quite efficient!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batesville
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This hotel is located in a wonderful part of town. Lots of action, with shops, sightseeing places, restaurants, bar, train station near by. The huge problem though is two-fold, NO air conditioning available and major partying noise from the street ALL night long. The town does not sleep. We used ear plugs to shelter the noise but this did not help. Maybe if we could have closed our window but our room was HOT.

Great price but with a cost.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This hotel is centrally located in Helsinki, and the price was definitely right for my wife and I. The room was stylish, youthful, but small: just big enough for two single beds with a little space between them. There was no closet, desk or chair. The washroom is also small but modern. That said, the floor of the shower should have been slightly lower, or, perhaps, sloped towards the drain because the water got everywhere and almost out the bathroom door. A squeegee would've been appreciated in order to dry things up faster and keep it all clean. There was some street noise that came in through the 6th floor windows, but there's not much that can be done about that.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauriker, Asiakassuhdepäällikkö at Hotelli Finn, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear academia_nut,
Thank you for your review.

We have recently divided our twin rooms into two different categories. This allows our guests to choose between cheaper and a bit smaller and bigger and a bit more expensive rooms according to their wishes. Bigger ones do have a closet, a desk and a chair, for example.

A squeegee is a very good idea, thank you! We’ll go and get those right away.

Best regards,
Lauri / Hotel Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The location can't be beat---half a block from the main street and within walking distance of the port, the bus station, trams and a large shopping center and the famous Stockman's Department Store. The staff at the reception desk were wonderful; incredibly knowledgeable and helpful and friendly. However, I would not stay here again. The hotel is on the 5th and 6th floors of a commercial building. There is a reception desk on the 5th floor but no lobby. They have hot water, and you can make your own tea bag for tea, but no coffee in the reception area. There is no breakfast, but they will give you a coupon for a 7 euro breakfast at a nearby restaurant. There is no English TV, no phone in the room, you have to ask for a hairdryer at the desk, you have to put a sign on the door to get maid service, and the lighting in my bathroom was so bad I couldn't see to put my makeup on

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauriker, Asiakassuhdepäällikkö at Hotelli Finn, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear MsEnergy,

Thank you for your review.

We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel’s location and customer service.
Our hotel is a small, family-owned, inner city hotel and our aim is to provide our guests with reasonably priced no-frills accommodation with excellent location and warmest possible service.

We’ll however take your wishes seriously, and consider getting some international channels into our tvs and making free coffee available for your guests as well. We have nowadays request-only maid service in order to respect the privacy of our guests and the environment.

Would you please contact us directly, we would like to know the room in which you stayed and see, what we could do for the bathroom lighting.

Best regards
Lauri /Hotel Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotelli Finn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelli Finn

Address: Kalevankatu 3 B, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotelli Finn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotelli Finn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelli Finn Helsinki
Hotelli Finn Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotelli Finn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.