We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotelli Finn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotelli Finn to your Saves list
Hotelli Finn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kalevankatu 3 B, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Close to everything!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Finn is a great value and a close walk to everything. I traveled solo this trip, so finding something close to action was important, and as an added bonus it was quiet. The people at the desk were knowledgeable and helpful as well. The breakfast they offer at a local restaurant is also worth the 7 Euros. If you are looking to save a bit of money and still be near the heart of Helsinki, Hotel Finn is for you.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauriker, Asiakassuhdepäällikkö at Hotelli Finn, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your kind words!
You're warmly welcome back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    136
    61
    18
    6
See reviews for
35
77
68
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Very clean and well maintained. Comfortable beds. Nice bathroom with plenty of hot water. Strong wifi, even in the room. Nice view of the street below. Short walk from the central bus/train station. Very close to the main street, therefore nice short walk to the 2 cathedrals and the wharf, from where I caught a ferry to Suomelina. Maybe a bit pricey for what it was, but Helsinki was expensive! No proper reception or lounge area. But the guy at the reception was very helpful - went out of his way to check me in before the normal time. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palermo, Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

we have spent one night and everything was perfect, the guys at the reception were simply perfect!! they provided us information to reach a Sauna on festivity day, they gave us the chance to leave the luggage there all day after till evening, offered us tea, free wifi, always smiling and providing all the information people need. The best example of Customer Service!! The position is very central and comfortable, the rooms are ok, just maybe toilette a bit small.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I see the photos here are quite nice and inviting, our room however was not comfortable, there was no fancy art or cool showercurtain. The bathroom with glasswall reminded me of a prison shower. It was dirty. We were two no nuff said when i say we never used the toilet in this room when there was just a low showerdoor between toilet and the rest of the room.
Price for this and a Scandic hotel close by is not that big difference. I see what we paied for was the location.
Goo dthing was that there was good tea fascilites in the reception.

Room Tip: If your not alone the one with the glasswall bath might not be a good choice. Definately not if your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauriker, Asiakassuhdepäällikkö at Hotelli Finn, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear TiinaG,

Thank you for your review. We’re unhappy to hear that your stay in our hotel did not meet your expectations. After your review, we have paid special attention to bathrooms’ cleaniness with our housekeeping company.

That room which has a bathroom with glass walls was a single experiment. Due to customer feedback, our other rooms have different and more traditional bathrooms. We’ll also rebuild the bathroom of this room as soon as we can.

We have now divided our twin rooms into two different categories, so that our guests can easily choose between smaller and more simply decorated rooms and bigger and fancier ones, depending to their wishes and needs.

We hope that you would give us another chance next time you’ll visit Helsinki.

Best regards
Lauri / Hotel Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We had a good stay at the Finn. The room was a bit small but clean & comfortable. Our luggage did not make to us for a day and the staff here was very helpful with making calls to the airline to make arrangements for our luggage to come back to us. As others say, the location is a short walk to the train station where you can catch a bus to the airport, many restaurants, and Stockman's (a giant dept. store that has every product under the sun + a grocery store) We did not try the nearby cafe the Finn uses for breakfast so cannot say if it is a good deal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I was really happy we booked this hotel with friends: we stayed here in Helsinki just for one night for one concert so we booked it as it seemed the cheapest. That moment we paid eu98 for double room. It was super easy to find from the railway, as it is just 7 minutes walk, staff was super friendly and helpful with directions. I guess no one was staying in our room next day so they didn't ask to check out till we went out ourselves. Rooms are clean with interesting modern design which doesn't look cheap. Huge windows with nice view! Beds are really narrow as elsewhere in Finland (no reason why). Another bad thing is no sound isolation. Lots of fine restaurants and shops around. 15 minutes walking from cathedral and other historical places. Highly recommended for those who want to see the city at day or night !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed here in mid-May for a week. The hotel is very central, cheap compared to other European capitals at 580 euros a week for a triple room, and the rooms were compact but totally satisfactory for our needs. Everything is within walking distance including department stores, specialty shops, eateries of all grades, railway and post office, and green space. The building itself is reasonably old but renovated inside and the room had a good fit-out with comfortable beds, plenty of room for baggage, with some chairs, interesting light fittings, and small but workable bathroom. There was the odd noisy night where we had to ask reception to quieten other guests who were making way too much noise and they did this professionally and successfully. The staff were unobtrusive yet friendly and helpful; they made our stay a smooth and pleasant experience in small but noticeable ways. The hotel has a deal with an eatery next door and a decent breakfast is close at hand and of good quality, as is the club underneath and on the diagonal where you can have a late night or early morning beer and go for cigarettes if you run out or tire of the ubiquitous vending machines. An interesting and pleasant hotel and location. Definitely stay here again in Helsinki.

Room Tip: A room at a higher level is better as there is a thriving cafe and club scene at street level which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotelli Finn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelli Finn

Address: Kalevankatu 3 B, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotelli Finn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotelli Finn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelli Finn Helsinki
Hotelli Finn Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotelli Finn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.