We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotelli Finn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotelli Finn to your Saves list
Hotelli Finn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kalevankatu 3 B, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We had a good stay at the Finn. The room was a bit small but clean & comfortable. Our luggage did not make to us for a day and the staff here was very helpful with making calls to the airline to make arrangements for our luggage to come back to us. As others say, the location is a short walk to the train station where you can catch a bus to the airport, many restaurants, and Stockman's (a giant dept. store that has every product under the sun + a grocery store) We did not try the nearby cafe the Finn uses for breakfast so cannot say if it is a good deal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    136
    60
    18
    6
See reviews for
35
74
68
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I was really happy we booked this hotel with friends: we stayed here in Helsinki just for one night for one concert so we booked it as it seemed the cheapest. That moment we paid eu98 for double room. It was super easy to find from the railway, as it is just 7 minutes walk, staff was super friendly and helpful with directions. I guess no one was staying in our room next day so they didn't ask to check out till we went out ourselves. Rooms are clean with interesting modern design which doesn't look cheap. Huge windows with nice view! Beds are really narrow as elsewhere in Finland (no reason why). Another bad thing is no sound isolation. Lots of fine restaurants and shops around. 15 minutes walking from cathedral and other historical places. Highly recommended for those who want to see the city at day or night !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed here in mid-May for a week. The hotel is very central, cheap compared to other European capitals at 580 euros a week for a triple room, and the rooms were compact but totally satisfactory for our needs. Everything is within walking distance including department stores, specialty shops, eateries of all grades, railway and post office, and green space. The building itself is reasonably old but renovated inside and the room had a good fit-out with comfortable beds, plenty of room for baggage, with some chairs, interesting light fittings, and small but workable bathroom. There was the odd noisy night where we had to ask reception to quieten other guests who were making way too much noise and they did this professionally and successfully. The staff were unobtrusive yet friendly and helpful; they made our stay a smooth and pleasant experience in small but noticeable ways. The hotel has a deal with an eatery next door and a decent breakfast is close at hand and of good quality, as is the club underneath and on the diagonal where you can have a late night or early morning beer and go for cigarettes if you run out or tire of the ubiquitous vending machines. An interesting and pleasant hotel and location. Definitely stay here again in Helsinki.

Room Tip: A room at a higher level is better as there is a thriving cafe and club scene at street level which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Spent two nights here and it's perfectly located for a stay in Helsinki. Only a 5/10 minute walk from the railway and bus stations, and you have plenty of shops, bars and restaurants right on it's doorstep! The Stockmann shopping centre is just across the road, along with Helsinki's Hard Rock Cafe. It's a pleasant 10 minute walk via the esplanade to the harbour where there is a market square/hall and a lot of ferry trips. There's a rock bar (Base) directly downstairs but I thought this was quite expensive, we paid just over €12 for a bottle of Sol and a half-pint of cider! Despite being so close to the heart of the city, I didn't find the hotel to be noisy at all. The only noise I experienced was some strange morning singing lessons or karaoke, seemingly from across the building!
The staff were lovely and helpful (and spoke fluent English), and there is a little station by reception that offers 24 hour tea and coffee along with a reasonably priced snack vending machine. The room was perhaps a bit small with no wardrobe space, but it was clean and modern with television and free (fast) Wifi. The location and value for money more than makes up for that tiny complaint anyway! I'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 5th floor, #513 I believe, and had minimal noise disruption. However our room was fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

As the sign says at the desk this is not a five star hotel but it is a very good little two star with an incredibly central location in the heart of Helsinki. It is close to the railways station and a quick tram ride to the ferry terminals and walking distance to all the sights in town. Great help from the front desk staff for things I wanted help with in the city.

Room Tip: Get a room in a corner to get cross ventilation. You will have to ask them for a key to open the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westgate-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Spend a week in May in HotelliFinn, lovely little hotel, friendly, helpful and reassuring staff. The rooms are simple but perfect for a budget hotel. Lovely sized rooms, comfy beds and the bathroom although small is perfect for what you need to do, the showers are lovely. 24 hour tea is worth it :D and there is a vending machine in the reception for late night snacks. Would definitely use this hotel again, the location is AMAZING and the overall experience for a first time in Helsinki was wonderful.

Room Tip: The doors are soundproofed and the hotel is lovely and quiet whatever room you are in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Good location, in the city center. As a guest you can have a breakfast in a coffee bar in the corner (Kinna) for 6€. Rooms are small and the receptionists were nice. Only one thing, the cleaning service. They practically didn't clean the room, only bedding and changed the towels

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotelli Finn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelli Finn

Address: Kalevankatu 3 B, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotelli Finn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotelli Finn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelli Finn Helsinki
Hotelli Finn Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotelli Finn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.