We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotelli Finn

Save Saved
You added Hotelli Finn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotelli Finn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kalevankatu 3 B, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Spent two nights here and it's perfectly located for a stay in Helsinki. Only a 5/10 minute walk from the railway and bus stations, and you have plenty of shops, bars and restaurants right on it's doorstep! The Stockmann shopping centre is just across the road, along with Helsinki's Hard Rock Cafe. It's a pleasant 10 minute walk via the esplanade to the harbour where there is a market square/hall and a lot of ferry trips. There's a rock bar (Base) directly downstairs but I thought this was quite expensive, we paid just over €12 for a bottle of Sol and a half-pint of cider! Despite being so close to the heart of the city, I didn't find the hotel to be noisy at all. The only noise I experienced was some strange morning singing lessons or karaoke, seemingly from across the building!
The staff were lovely and helpful (and spoke fluent English), and there is a little station by reception that offers 24 hour tea and coffee along with a reasonably priced snack vending machine. The room was perhaps a bit small with no wardrobe space, but it was clean and modern with television and free (fast) Wifi. The location and value for money more than makes up for that tiny complaint anyway! I'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 5th floor, #513 I believe, and had minimal noise disruption. However our room was fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    123
    50
    16
    6
See reviews for
32
68
59
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

As the sign says at the desk this is not a five star hotel but it is a very good little two star with an incredibly central location in the heart of Helsinki. It is close to the railways station and a quick tram ride to the ferry terminals and walking distance to all the sights in town. Great help from the front desk staff for things I wanted help with in the city.

Room Tip: Get a room in a corner to get cross ventilation. You will have to ask them for a key to open the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westgate-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Spend a week in May in HotelliFinn, lovely little hotel, friendly, helpful and reassuring staff. The rooms are simple but perfect for a budget hotel. Lovely sized rooms, comfy beds and the bathroom although small is perfect for what you need to do, the showers are lovely. 24 hour tea is worth it :D and there is a vending machine in the reception for late night snacks. Would definitely use this hotel again, the location is AMAZING and the overall experience for a first time in Helsinki was wonderful.

Room Tip: The doors are soundproofed and the hotel is lovely and quiet whatever room you are in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Good location, in the city center. As a guest you can have a breakfast in a coffee bar in the corner (Kinna) for 6€. Rooms are small and the receptionists were nice. Only one thing, the cleaning service. They practically didn't clean the room, only bedding and changed the towels

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed a night at Hotelli Finn at the end of April. The rooms are not huge but big enough. There is a lack of hooks and places to put backs. The decor is quite nice and the bathroom is a good size and is a 'wet' room like a lot of the bathrooms in Scandinavia.
It's only about 600 metres from the central station.
We also took advantage of the breakfast in the restaurant next door. It was delicious and excellent value for 6 euros.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauriker, Guest Relations Manager at Hotelli Finn, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear PRAust,

Thank you for your feedback - especially about the lack of hooks, we'll fix that!

You're warmly welcome again if you come back to Helsinki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Hotel Finn occupies the 5th and 6th floor of the building. You use your keycard to open the downstairs door and also to open the upstairs door in the evening (when the reception is closed).
Decoration is modern and pleasant. The room (twin beds) was tiny. It was probably the smallest room I ve ever stayed in. There was no rack or bench to put luggage on to. We had to keep them on the floor, and then open them on top of the bed in order to get stuff.
TV was large and wall-mounted. Bathroom was tiny as well but with nice fittings. It does not have a shower base, so everything gets wet when you have a shower.
We had a view of the towering hotel torni right in front of us, which was nice I suppose.
Room was clean and looked modern, albeit really really tiny!

The location is ideal. Its a short walk to the esplanades. There are also many bars in the area.
Helsinki is a very expensive city. At 90 euros per night for a twin room, Hotel Finn was a relative bargain compared to what else was available.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauriker, Guest Relations Manager at Hotelli Finn, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Evan76,
Thank you for your review!

We agree that our rooms are a bit variable in size, as the building is an old one. We’ll soon divide our M (twin) rooms into two different categories, so that it will be easier for our guest to choose between a bit smaller and a bit more spacious twin rooms!

Best regards,
Lauri
Hotel Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I stayed in Hotel Finn over April for two nights. It was a very nice and cheap hotel.

Customer Service: Lovely, very helpful, great skills of English, professional members of staff

Location: The best one, just 2 mins from the central train and bus station (very helpful for me, as a tourist

Room: Spacious, well-decorated, tidy, clean. No noise as the room was located on the 5th floor and I enjoyed some good sleep!

I am very happy with everything I had there :) Great work guys, keep it up!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotelli Finn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelli Finn

Address: Kalevankatu 3 B, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotelli Finn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotelli Finn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelli Finn Helsinki
Hotelli Finn Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotelli Finn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.