We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Finn is great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotelli Finn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotelli Finn to your Saves list
Hotelli Finn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kalevankatu 3 B, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Eugene, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hotel Finn is great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We randomly picked Hotel Finn based on location and price. Nothing is cheap in Helsinki but Hotel Finn provides clean, basic accomodations for a very reasonable price. Our room was spotless, beds comfortable and location allowed for walking everywhere. They offer a deal of 6 euros for a nearby restaurant breakfast buffet that is exceptionally tasty, offering many options for even the pickiest eaters. That price would hardly buy two coffees anywhere else. Fill up for the day and save the cost of lunch

Staff is very friendly and the 24 hour offering of make-it-yourself tea is a very nice touch, and a rare delight in hotels. I rate it excellent for the price--don't expect five star for this price.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    136
    61
    18
    6
See reviews for
35
76
68
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Do not expect anything special, but for Helsinki the Hotel Finn is a very good deal. For a good price you get a perfectly located accommodation in a newly renovated building. Rooms are cosy, the staff is friendly (but the reception closes at about 20:00 and after that time there is only a telephone number for emergencies) and tea is available for free for the guests. Weak point: the bathroom, terribly small. But fully furnished, also with some sort of bidet. The hotel has a deal with a neighboring restaurant for the breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

To my mind, the people that have reviewed this hotel are fixated on its proximity to the center of the city and nothing else. The reviews on this place run the full gamut and while “location, location, location” is the theme relative to buying real estate I expect more when booking a hotel but location is all I received at the Finn.

Momma said “always try to say something nice,” so here goes: The staff was friendly and the Internet superfast. Now that I have heeded Momma’s admonition let me give you the real skinny: If you can get this hotel for seventy-five U.S. Dollars or less and all of the hotels appear overpriced, and you are a dude travelling alone book it, otherwise avoid this place like the bubonic plague.

The entryway is dirty and you should use extreme caution when exiting using this door because you can hurt your fingers very easily. At night all of the smokers from the adjacent bar congregate outside to puff away so when you leave hold your breath. It only gets worse.

I got a single room and the bed was as small as a bed gets. The bedding fit the exact size of the small bed, which is ludicrous. Bring the toiletries you stashed away from the better hotels you have frequented because the mini mouthwash sized bottles of body wash did not cut it. The towels were old, ugly worn and cheap. The shower was ridiculous. They merely installed a pipe that wrapped around the interior of the wall, put a drain in the floor and presto a shower was made. The shower is so close to the toilet that when at rest the curtain touched the toilet. I would definitely treat this shower as a locker room shower and wear shower shoes.

The closet was old, the furniture was old and the couch was ugly and old. There is a flat screen television made by LG that some idiot mounted right next to the window. The window curtains covered ten percent of the television screen notwithstanding the fact that there was plenty of baron wall space. There were not enough wall outlets so there was an extension cord on the floor if you needed to plug in the table lamp. Finally, there was no ice machine, vending or snack machines, I heard dogs barking occasionally, and you will never find thinner walls anywhere.

Ladies, if you husband or boyfriend is on a budget and suggests this hotel skip a couple of happy hours so you can put away a little extra coin and find another place to stay. I have no idea what some of these other reviewers saw but take it from the Chocoolate one: don’t stay here!

Room Tip: Don't Do It
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Very good hotel. It is pretty close to the railway station, with free tea for 24 hours. Despite excellent location the price is extremely friendly. I can recommend the hotel to everyone who is not ready to spend a lot of money but who wants to stay in the city centre in a very neat rooms

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Pros:
- location is excellent (walking distance to train and buses, major sights and shopping)
- noise insulation (we couldn't hear a thing even though we were next to reception)
- large 32 inch plasma (but only half the channels worked)
- great room design with heated bathroom floor
- decent toiletries
- coat rack and shoe stand in room
- friendly staff
- free maps and information

Cons:
- although a budget hotel it is still quite pricey (but so is everything in Helsinki)
- shower was not separate and although there was a shower curtain the whole bathroom still got incredibly wet

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is hotel is all about location for a good price. You cant be more in the center like this. The hotel has a bit apartment hotel feeling. The room I was in was small, but served it purpose and was well worth the money. However, it was cold in the room that was promptly fixed with one additional battery. Unfortunately I heard quite well noise from other room and from outside. The tv didnt work, although its not that relevant.

Despite the small glitches, I like the hotel and should be taken as it is. With just small attention to details and this is a really good hotel. The staff was young but with a much more sincere attitude than most of ordinary hotels.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed in a three people room. It's a nice budget hotel as the price is reasonable. Room Space is large enough to open three luggage at the same time. The room is neat and quite modern designed. The staff are helpful on answering our enquiries and willing to satisfy our request. The worst thing i think is the toilet is a bit dark.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotelli Finn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelli Finn

Address: Kalevankatu 3 B, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotelli Finn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotelli Finn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelli Finn Helsinki
Hotelli Finn Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotelli Finn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.