We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Stay Will Be My Last” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotelli Finn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotelli Finn to your Saves list
Hotelli Finn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kalevankatu 3 B, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
San Francisco
Level Contributor
447 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“This Stay Will Be My Last”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

To my mind, the people that have reviewed this hotel are fixated on its proximity to the center of the city and nothing else. The reviews on this place run the full gamut and while “location, location, location” is the theme relative to buying real estate I expect more when booking a hotel but location is all I received at the Finn.

Momma said “always try to say something nice,” so here goes: The staff was friendly and the Internet superfast. Now that I have heeded Momma’s admonition let me give you the real skinny: If you can get this hotel for seventy-five U.S. Dollars or less and all of the hotels appear overpriced, and you are a dude travelling alone book it, otherwise avoid this place like the bubonic plague.

The entryway is dirty and you should use extreme caution when exiting using this door because you can hurt your fingers very easily. At night all of the smokers from the adjacent bar congregate outside to puff away so when you leave hold your breath. It only gets worse.

I got a single room and the bed was as small as a bed gets. The bedding fit the exact size of the small bed, which is ludicrous. Bring the toiletries you stashed away from the better hotels you have frequented because the mini mouthwash sized bottles of body wash did not cut it. The towels were old, ugly worn and cheap. The shower was ridiculous. They merely installed a pipe that wrapped around the interior of the wall, put a drain in the floor and presto a shower was made. The shower is so close to the toilet that when at rest the curtain touched the toilet. I would definitely treat this shower as a locker room shower and wear shower shoes.

The closet was old, the furniture was old and the couch was ugly and old. There is a flat screen television made by LG that some idiot mounted right next to the window. The window curtains covered ten percent of the television screen notwithstanding the fact that there was plenty of baron wall space. There were not enough wall outlets so there was an extension cord on the floor if you needed to plug in the table lamp. Finally, there was no ice machine, vending or snack machines, I heard dogs barking occasionally, and you will never find thinner walls anywhere.

Ladies, if you husband or boyfriend is on a budget and suggests this hotel skip a couple of happy hours so you can put away a little extra coin and find another place to stay. I have no idea what some of these other reviewers saw but take it from the Chocoolate one: don’t stay here!

Room Tip: Don't Do It
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHOCOOLATE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Very good hotel. It is pretty close to the railway station, with free tea for 24 hours. Despite excellent location the price is extremely friendly. I can recommend the hotel to everyone who is not ready to spend a lot of money but who wants to stay in the city centre in a very neat rooms

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxim449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Pros:
- location is excellent (walking distance to train and buses, major sights and shopping)
- noise insulation (we couldn't hear a thing even though we were next to reception)
- large 32 inch plasma (but only half the channels worked)
- great room design with heated bathroom floor
- decent toiletries
- coat rack and shoe stand in room
- friendly staff
- free maps and information

Cons:
- although a budget hotel it is still quite pricey (but so is everything in Helsinki)
- shower was not separate and although there was a shower curtain the whole bathroom still got incredibly wet

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is hotel is all about location for a good price. You cant be more in the center like this. The hotel has a bit apartment hotel feeling. The room I was in was small, but served it purpose and was well worth the money. However, it was cold in the room that was promptly fixed with one additional battery. Unfortunately I heard quite well noise from other room and from outside. The tv didnt work, although its not that relevant.

Despite the small glitches, I like the hotel and should be taken as it is. With just small attention to details and this is a really good hotel. The staff was young but with a much more sincere attitude than most of ordinary hotels.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a three people room. It's a nice budget hotel as the price is reasonable. Room Space is large enough to open three luggage at the same time. The room is neat and quite modern designed. The staff are helpful on answering our enquiries and willing to satisfy our request. The worst thing i think is the toilet is a bit dark.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ABC096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Right in the heart of the action, with access to great restaurants, shopping, and the transportation hubs Hotel Finn was perfect for us…
We easily strolled to the Church in the Rock, the ferry terminal, and all of the best shopping places… Very clean and charming too.. love the decor!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jsacch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I Loved the hotel very much! I travelled with a little kid, so locaiton was very important for me,  and it was the most central for all the important points, 500 meters from the railway station and 300 from the bus and subway. there's Stockman and all main streets opposite the hotel.
There's no restaurant in the hotel, but there's a very good restaulant 10 meters to the left, where we could have breakfast buffet at 5 Euro per person and lunch at 10 Euro per person.
The staff was so kind and attentive, explained us a lot with where to go, what to see and where to eat.
Our room #615 was very clean with a double bed and a sofa. The design is good enough. I was very pleased staying in the hotel and would definitely return there!

Room Tip: our room was 615, it had a bad and a sofa where an adult could sleep. Windows are looking to the yar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Scandic Paasi
#5 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
GLO Hotel Art
#15 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
#27 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 826 reviews
Hotel Helka
#13 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotelli Finn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelli Finn

Address: Kalevankatu 3 B, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#25 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotelli Finn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotelli Finn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelli Finn Helsinki
Hotelli Finn Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing