We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny room in good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotelli Finn

Save Saved
You added Hotelli Finn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotelli Finn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kalevankatu 3 B, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Foz do Iguacu, PR
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Tiny room in good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The hotel is in city center, around 10 minutes to train station and bus stopped to airport. There are many restaurants and supermarkert close to hotel. The hotel has good has a good breakfast another building. It´s perfect hotel....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    123
    50
    14
    5
See reviews for
32
66
59
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Very comfortable, clean, central, and for Helsinki quite cheap. The 5-euro breakfast next door was good value. We'd stay here again. Only gripe was the late (10am) opening of the reception on Sundays, so we coudn't drop our luggage.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Staying in Finland and central Helsinki is not cheap. I wouldnt consider the cost of this hotel cheap but compared to other options it was certainly cheaper. I was staying on my own so I was prepared to make some comfort sacrifices.

Even so, I was initially a bit surprised at how basic and small the room was, but actually it was OK, only the shower area was annoyingly small, but I managed.

The location was perfect I think. Quite central to all the places I wanted to visit.

The room was fairly quiet, only sometimes some noise from people walking down the corridor. Windows double glazed and it wasn't too cold, but it didn't have air conditioning and I wonder in the middle of winter that it must get quite chilly? or too hot in the middle of summer. However at this time of year it was just fine for me.

Breakfast can be provided at Killa restaurant only about 20 metres from the ground floor entrance. It's an amazingly cheap deal for guests of Hotelli Finn. I stayed 4 nights and made use of the breakfast deal 3 times. It opens early on weekdays (as early as 7:30am I think) although on Sunday you need to wait to 10am. Not sure about Saturday.

The people at hotel reception were always very friendly and helpful. It was funny there were so many different people, often each day in the morning and the evening the person to be different from the day before. Perhaps twice I could see it was a same person as previous. But as I said they were all very good, it was just amusing to notice the many changing faces.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Hotelli Finn - Kalevankatu 3 B, Helsinki 00100, Finland - nightmare in Finland - do not visit if you want to sleep at night! My visit to Helsinki to run a marathon in August 2013 was ruined by this disgusting hostel (it is not a hotel!), teenagers were going wild all over the place after midnight, impossible to sleep, even with ear foam, reception not manned at night, security guard when finally turned up over an hour after being called, told me that this is what Finnish people do and that if I wanted to sleep at night I should have gone to a much more expensive hotel. TV was broken, breakfast was awful. As a comparison, for the same price (around 80 Euro/per night) I stayed in lovely, even elegant central hotels in Copenhagen and Stockholm with fantastic generous breakfast and great service. Hotel Finn is of the most unpleasant hostels I've ever had the misfortune of staying in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We only had one night in Helsinki enroute to St.Petersberg
The hotel's location was great as it close to transport & most facilities
The room was clean & it's facilities matched its rating
As we were there in summer there is no cooling in the room - so we slept with a window open & got a fair bit of street noise This took a bit of getting used to
Overall very good

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is small, centrally located, has modern, clean and spacious rooms, breakfast for 5€ extra in a near by restaurant and helpful and friendly staff. And all this for a good price. Didn't expect anything else for my one night stay in Helsinki.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend for two nights recently during a trip around the Baltic. The hotel is small and functional but good value. The rooms are furnished very simply but to a high standard. Our room was also larger than we would have expected given price paid and the city centre location. A great budget option in Helsinki.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotelli Finn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelli Finn

Address: Kalevankatu 3 B, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotelli Finn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotelli Finn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelli Finn Helsinki
Hotelli Finn Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotelli Finn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.