We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy small and fantastic staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotelli Finn

Save Saved
You added Hotelli Finn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotelli Finn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kalevankatu 3 B, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
1 review
“Cozy small and fantastic staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights. Found the staff to be extremely helpful with all my silly tourist questions, such as "what restaurants are good?" and "where can I get a haircut"
Rooms were clean. If youre staying more than one night you must let them know if you want your room cleaned and/or if you want to change the bed linen or towels.
The price and location are super convenient as well!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

237 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    119
    49
    13
    5
See reviews for
29
64
58
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trento, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I spent here three nights with my husband. The room was perfectly clean, nicely furnished and the location couldn't be better: the Hotel is in the center of the town, at a small distance from several points of interest, but out of the traffic, on a pedestrian street with various café and bar. There is a very large underground parking nearby. Only the bathroom is rather small, but everything is there. If I will come back to Helsinki (I hope so), this will be again my hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with my two sons age 16 and 14. Had to attend hospital with one son, and ended up extending our stay, Staff were more than accommodating with help and advice and upgrading accommodation, at no extra cost.
Though all rooms at the front of the hotel are very noisy at night due to bars below.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel is very convenient, comfortable and clean. It is a short walk to the train station and a short tram ride to the Viking ferry terminal. The left luggage section is convenient. My only problem is that we arrived by train before 10 on a Sunday morning and the reception desk had not opened. We waited at a nearby cafe, but that was sort of inconvenient. A note with the phone number was posted, but we do not travel with a phone. I had checked via email before we traveled to be sure everything was set but had not been clear enough--I do recommend the hotel, but also recommend that you clarify your time of arrival!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I now class myself as a 'regular' at Hotelli Finn. A great location and good value for money. Always friendly, welcoming and helpful staff. My single room had a good size comfortable bed and the bathroom, although small, is adequate. Only one problem I have - I would suggest that the shampoo provided come in "softer" packaging as I found it extremely hard to squeeze the contents from the bottle - just a suggestion. Will certainly stay there again and recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms on 5th floor and not facing the entry street are very quiet considering the situation of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in July and were delighted with the hotel. Friendly staff and very helpful instructions by Email to deal with our arrival after 1 a.m. A very easy 5 minute walk from the station (get the Finnair or local bus from the airport) and only 10 - 15 mins walk from all the major sites. Unlike some other reviewers we found the wifi very reliable, and greatly enjoyed breakfast at bar/cafe Kiila just down the road (mention Hotel Finn for discounted price of 5 euros each). We also had an excellent evening meal at Kiila.

Room Tip: Rooms around the side opposite Hotel Torni are probably quieter than the rooms over the entrance. Se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Finn for 3 nights on a recent weekend visit to Helsinki and really enjoyed our stay. We had a double room that was comfortable, clean, spacious and quiet. The price was great, especially given we had a private ensuite bathroom and the central location of the hotel. It is just a short walk from the central train station and there are lots of cafes, restaurants, bar and shops literally on your doorstep. The Helsinki harbour front, Kampii bus station and Kampii metro station are a short walk away. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and all spoke great English (something we found all over Finland). Be aware that the hotel is on the 5th and 6th floor of a commercial building and you need to go up to the 6th floor to check-in. It's also worth asking about the breakfast buffet available at the restaurant downstairs for Hotel Finn guests - at 5 Euro per person it's the best value breakfast we found in Helsinki and well worth the money. Just be aware that the hotel is only a 2 star hotel - there are no frills (e.g. no tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms, no fancy towels or dressing gowns, no room service, etc). For the price though, you can't go wrong. It's basic, but modern and functional.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotelli Finn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelli Finn

Address: Kalevankatu 3 B, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotelli Finn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Hotelli Finn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelli Finn Helsinki
Hotelli Finn Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotelli Finn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.