We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If wifi is iportant to you, avoid!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotelli Finn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotelli Finn to your Saves list
Hotelli Finn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kalevankatu 3 B, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“If wifi is iportant to you, avoid!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Good value for money, pretty good location near shops and restaurants but........the free wifi in the rooms is poor. It was a weak signal and kept slowing, stopping and then vanishing for long periods. Really annoying if you have work to do.

Either get it sorted out or stop advertising that you provide wifi.

Also, I didn't really appreciate a random female bursting into my room at 1.00am! Although she apologised it didn't fill me with confidence that she had a working key card for my room!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    129
    54
    18
    6
See reviews for
33
74
63
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed here for 10 nights in July 2012, partly for work and also a few extra days to explore Helsinki. The location is perfect, I walked almost everywhere when out sightseeing although I did have to get the tram to the Messukeskus in Pasila for the conference, this was not a problem as the tram stop was nearby and the trams run often and are quite quick. The hotel is clean and tidy, with friendly staff. I was very impressed with it and feel that it was good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Location of this hotel is in an old building opposite Stockmann shopping centre, near the central bus station. Walk from bus station took 10 mins on cobblestone streets and up a slope before reaching the old building. The hotel is on 5/6th floor.

The hotel is stylish and renovated. The room is very small and facing the streets. People dined till past midnight (long days) and the noise still did not cease. There is no air-con in the room so we had to open the windows to allow ventilation. But this meant the noise can be heard in the room. Boy these people just won't stop talking!

Though the room is small, we managed to squeeze some space for luggage by pushing the 2 single beds to one side. However, what is short is made up by the decor of the room, nice toilet and lighting. It's basic but cozy. The warm shower was good for our tired bodies.

A big supermarket in Stockmann is useful. We walked to the nearby attractions and harbour front.

There is free wi-fi in the room but it's slow and spotty. The network dropped sometimes.

The man at the reception was not very friendly. Just did the job by issuing the key and the necessary paperwork.

Other than these, the room for 89 euros for a night was good enough for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the street as it's noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hotel located very close to rail/busstation and Svenska teatern. Located in the hart of the shopping center and the design district. Harbour nearby with great excursions to Astonia(tallinn) Breakfastrestaurant next to hotel very good.Room is big enough and very clean. Helpfull staff very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

That's a good hotel to stay for a couple of nights in! Good location in a very centre of Helsinlki = in 5 min from railway station and airport shuttle bus stop and just in 1 min from Stockmann shopping center. Lots of nice restaurants and cosy cafes around! My room (502) was small, but clean and stylish! Good choice for a reasonable price!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I really liked Hotel Finn. Great location (close to train station and tourist sites), my room was comfortable with a very modern, bright design and the price was very affordable. I would have preferred if the reception was open 24 hours per day for security reasons (I'm traveling solo), but I knew this in advance and still decided to stay. I did in fact, always feel secure too (very thick doors).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My wife and me started our honeymoon tour in this hotel. It is located not far from the central train station, no need to take any transport. Although we arrived at midnight, the administrator was at the workplace and we checked-in with no problems.
The room was small but yet cozy, comfortable and clean. It was also very calm during our stay. There's no shower cabin (the drain is right in the floor) but the floor itself is heated so shower flip-flops are not necessary.
There's no cafe inside the hotel but there are many of them around. There's also a supermarket nearby. Hot water was available at the reception.
We has to check out early in the morning so we just left the key cards with a small note at the reception desk.

To sum up, Hotelli Finn is a good place to stay for several days: nicely located and comfortable enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotelli Finn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelli Finn

Address: Kalevankatu 3 B, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotelli Finn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotelli Finn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelli Finn Helsinki
Hotelli Finn Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotelli Finn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.