We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel in Helsinki” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotelli Finn

Save Saved
You added Hotelli Finn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotelli Finn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kalevankatu 3 B, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Sydney
1 review
“The Best Hotel in Helsinki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is a funky boutique hotel right in the heart of Helsinki. I've stayed there 5 times or more with my partner and will always go back when in the Sink. The decor is modern and warm, the rooms spacious, clean and welcoming. The hotel staff is kind and very helpful. Though it may not have the amenities of other larger chains, Hotel Finn makes up for it in charm and strategy - for example, they have a deal with the restaurant around the corner for a 5 Euro breakfast buffet. Never mind the nit-pickers, this is honestly the best hotel and best deal in Helsinki. In my estimation, they should be booked in full every night. It's not yet. And that's a good thing for you. Because the secret of this place isn't fully out yet. When it gets out...good luck getting a room. Oh, and if you do get room, check out Bar Tapasta which is a great little Spanish themed restaurant with great tapas on Uudenmankatu.

Room Tip: 513 and 515 are particularly good...but all rooms are charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    117
    51
    14
    6
See reviews for
28
63
57
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed in the 5th floor, and the whole floor was newly renovated. Fresh and nice with IKEA furniture. Clean, but a lot of dust on TV, lamps etc. We had two rooms, one very small and one OK. No shower curtain, so the bathroom got all wet. NO AC, and the street outside can be a little bit noisy in the morning sleeping with the window open. The rooms has 1 desk, 1 chair and bed, no amenities. Very central. Value for money in an expensive city!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows to the back yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Hotel Finn is located on the 5th and 6th floor of a building that is centrally located. We stayed in a room that had it's own bathroom. It didn't have a closet, an iron, or a hair dryer, but you could borrow an iron through the front desk. The room was clean and there was minimal decorating. There was however, a rather large flat screen tv mounted on the wall and the hallways were very modernly decorated. There is also no swimming pool. There is not a place to eat in the hotel, but there are many places close by, either across the street in any of the cafes, or you can grab a quick bite from Stockman's. The train and bus terminals are close as well as many tourist spots. The staff is incredibly friendly. If you are staying for fun, get a Helsinki card for an even better value for your vacation. I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a good value, and who does not care about room decorations much.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My husband and I and 2 young children stayed here for just 1 night. The hotel is in an amazing location. Very nice and helpful staff! Very simple room and bathroom. Both clean. We explored our surroundings for the short time we were there and loved that our hotel was in the middle of it all! The girl on duty, Lofta was so sweet and helpful during our stay! She recommended a great restaurant, Fish Market which was absolutely fabulous! For us, on our short stay, the hotel was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Carefully read all reviews of this property; our experience here echos that of the other bad ones. The noise from construction inside the hotel starts at 7:30am or so (no sleeping in), but noise from the pubs/cafes on the street below kept us up past 2am. Noise from other units comes in through the ventilation system.

The washroom smelled like awful sewage however I think this may be due to the shower trap running dry. As others report the shower is the entire washroom so everything gets soaked.

Elevator is scary and the whole setup is not worth the €100+ we paid. Maybe €40.

Tried to like it but couldn't.

Room Tip: Ask for a new renovated room and ask for a solution to sewage smell in toilets at check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I can't say bad things about the place. I'm not a hostel customer normally so this was a little different. A private room w/private bath. Helsinki is an expensive city and I could have gotten a hotel room from one end of the spectrum to the other. I was disappointed that in order to get maid service, I had to ask. Other hotels in about the same range provided it fwithout requests. I understand that I was in a hostel and this is not a big deal but it is something one should know to make a choice. The front desk staff was great!!! They had a great sense of humor and knew everything that was asked. The front desk is NOT manned 24-hr/ day. Again not an issue if you make the decision that there won't be any need. Location? You cannot ask for a better location. The central train station is right there, a few restaurants just outside including bars. Be prepared for the errant party-goer below you Hotel Finn location. We were serenaded from about 1 am until almost 4:30 am. Must admit the guy/gal did fairly well on the accordion. Would I stay again? Most likely I would. I like the staff and the location.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

The Hotel Finn was a good place to stay in the center of Helsinki. It is on a street with serveral restaurants and bars. The beds were comfortable in the hard style. The room was quite small even by European statndards. The bath was also strange in that the "shower" is a sprayer attached to the sink in the middle of what would normaly be considered a half bath. To use it everything has to get wet. We have used many showers that are an area in the bathroom but this was much smaller.

Other than that the room was a good value. The hotel is of the style that doesn't offer housekeeping with the price. It is available but costs extra. Clean towels are also extra. They were very nice about providing us with two extra pillows, though, at no cost.

The entry is six floors down from reception and is part of another business. Going up in the elevator is not very inviting as the whole building is under renovation. I undertand from previous reviews that this has been the case for quite a while. It would be good if they could finish up. It would make the place much more inviting.

Room Tip: I don't know if it is possible but I would suggest you see whether there are rooms with more sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotelli Finn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelli Finn

Address: Kalevankatu 3 B, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotelli Finn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotelli Finn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelli Finn Helsinki
Hotelli Finn Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotelli Finn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.