We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel...but ask for a room away from reception” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotelli Finn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotelli Finn to your Saves list
Hotelli Finn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kalevankatu 3 B, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value hotel...but ask for a room away from reception”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Agree with the other reviews which praise this hotel's relatively budget friendly prices and excellent location. We also found the staff exceptionally helpful and rooms comfortable and sheltered from outside noise (the windows were double glazed).

The only negative was the we were given a room right next to the reception area (when we opened our room door, we were pretty much at the reception desk!). At night, all guests passed through this area on their way to bed and sadly, a number were not considerate enough to keep the noise down, both nights we were woken several times by drunken shouting etc. A vending machine right outside our door seemed to offer a place for such folks to congregate late at night which didn't help! If possible, request a room away from reception...or take ear plugs.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    136
    61
    18
    6
See reviews for
35
76
68
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay here. The staff was very friendly and helpful. This is a perfect location and near hotels that cost double what this one is. I recommend booking ahead because if there are events in the area, this hotel could fill up fast. I had a room with a bathroom all to myself. I traveled by myself and felt completely safe here and in the country itself. People in Finland are generally very shy so it helps to stay at a hotel where the staff is friendly and helpful in finding things. It's across the street a bit from Stockman's a major store...and right before you get there is also the Trolley. Maybe just a 2 min walk...
You can pretty much walk every place...I did! Lots of little stores and historic places to see.
Beds are comfy and clean. Cute decor! Hardwood floors....nice sized window in room. The building itself has a security code to enter and your key to access your room. One downside - the hotel staff isn't there 24/7. If you are self sufficient this isn't a problem. I've traveled quite a bit so it was no worries for me...but if you are a needy traveler who gets lost and confused easily...take a deep breath, relax and stay here :)

Room Tip: Book in advance. Coblestone streets before hotel entrance so you will have to wheel your bags over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelFinn, Owner at Hotelli Finn, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for your kind words. We are currently looking into expanding the receptions opening hours to 24 hours a day, so soon that won't be a problem anymore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Very simple hotel well equipped with main services in a very great location. Excellent quality price-location. I'm in Helsinki at least once per year for my own pleasure 'cause I'm personally in love with Finland and Finnish people and actually I use to rent a flat for longer period but if you need only to sleep and have a start point to move HOTELLI FINN is a great ones. I know that currently it is also completely renovated so very advisable. Moro kaikille! Mulla on ikävää Suomea oikein paljon

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelFinn, Owner at Hotelli Finn, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for writing a review. Good that you liked one of our newly renovated rooms. Unfortunately only half of the rooms have been renovated thus far. We are currently renovating the rest of them so soon all the rooms will be in pristine condition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Our family of four flies to Russia through Helsinki every year and this year we finally decided to spend the last night of our trip in Helsinki to check out the downtown area and just get a feel for the city.

I selected this Hotel based upon price and previous reviews and am wholly satisfied with our choice. The Hotel Finn is a short and easy walk (no hills or highways) from the central train station. We took a city bus (#10) from Vantaa Airport to the train station (35 min.) - this is the most economical way to get downtown. Children under either 12 or 10 ride free - one of my children rode free to Helsinki and both rode free returning to the Airport . Cost per person is 6 Euros 25 Cents. A cab, I was told, will run you approximately 40 Euros.

The Hotel occupies the entire 6th floor of a building and the elevator is a bit scary as it is a tight fit for more than three people and there is no safety door like on all elevators in the states - the external wall glides by as you rise up to the hotel. A bit dangerous in my opinion.

The hotel itself on the 6th floor is very cozy with very friendly and knowledgeable English- speaking staff. We had a budget quad with four very comfortable twin beds and private bath for $196.18 including tax. Our room had no fridge or microwave. A very basic room indeed but it was tastefully decorated with a good shower and it was quiet. We got a great nights sleep.

My tips for economically seeing the city when you have very little time and are on a budget (EVERYTHING in Finland is about 2-3 times as expensive as in the states):

Take the 3T tram for a nice loop tour around the city it only costs 2.5 Euro for a ticket and you get a good hour+ of sights and sounds around the city. All of the Finnish people with whom we interacted were completely fluent in English and very friendly and helpful. We had no fears at all while walking around late at night with our children or at any time.

As you exit the hotel, walk left to the main street and you will see STOCKMANN's department store - a Finnish Woolworth's of sorts. A very nice department store with a fantastic grocery store and an amazing deli in the basement. We ate a very good meal there and bought some breakfast items for the next morning for under $50 (believe me that is a bargain).

The city is extremely clean and in my opinion very safe as well. The hotel clerk proudly exclaimed that the tap water in the room is very good and potable and is better than bottled water. I believe he is right - it was very good water and we all drank it with no bad effects.

All in all, we had a tiny taste of Finland and found the people and sights to be very beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelFinn, Owner at Hotelli Finn, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for your review and some good tips for visitors in Helsinki.

We do realize the old age of the lift might cause some problems with guests who have gotten used to much more modern lifts, I do guarantee however that it is perfectly safe. Hopefully we can get a new lift installed to the building as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Location is very good-near the Helsinki main railway station, means, nearly in the center of the city. Spend there 2 nights, only coming to sleep. From this point there were no probs.. All other services ( restaurant, room service, etc.) didn't use at all - so, do not have com- ments about..

Room Tip: Nothing special, only necessary things in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin,TX
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Yes this is a basic hotel but it's the best bang for your buck in Hel$inki that's for sure. The location is excellent and our private twin ensuite was comfortable and quiet. The tv even had a few english channels. The deep tub was a little weird but better than the drains with no shower curtains we had in Turkey the night before. Spend your money on the city not the bed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Helsinki is a very expensive city and this hotel is one of (if not) the cheapest hotels in central Helsinki. The hotel is a short walk from the train station and the main shopping streets. The rooms are basic but clean and the hotel staff are very friendly and helpful.

Whilst the hotel’s central location is very convenient, is also its main fault. We were in Helsinki on a Saturday and there seemed to be a number of night clubs and bars around the hotel. Whilst the area is not seedy, we had a room facing the street and we had a difficult time sleeping due to the street noise and music from the bars and nightclubs. The music didn't stop until about 4am (but the sun was out until about midnight in late May). To be fair Sunday night was much better (still some music and street noise) but nowhere near as much as Saturday night.

A really cool thing about the hotel is if you forget your sunnies you can borrow some from the reception.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelFinn, Owner at Hotelli Finn, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for your review.

We are currently fitting new sound-isolated double windows to all the rooms under renovation, so sound coming from the vibrant street downstairs will not be a problem soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotelli Finn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelli Finn

Address: Kalevankatu 3 B, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotelli Finn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotelli Finn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelli Finn Helsinki
Hotelli Finn Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotelli Finn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.