We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in Helsinki” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Erottajanpuisto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Erottajanpuisto to your Saves list
Hostel Erottajanpuisto
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Uudenmaankatu 9, Helsinki 00120, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Good value in Helsinki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed here for only one night on my way through Helsinki but was a good value hostel. Super fast wifi, comfortable beds, easy storage of luggage both before and after checkin .... Would definitely go straight back here on another visit to Helsinki...the location is pretty central, kinda between all the major sights but not overly loud. Definitely not a party hostel but has helpful staff, large kitchen and clean, powerful showers... A+ guys

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    48
    21
    5
    0
See reviews for
4
16
56
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights here, centrally located, friendly staff, clean rooms. A mixed group of people staying here, from workers to tourists. Nice communal area. Its very expensive for what it is but thats helsinki for you, would recommend it if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vb
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Staff were nice by email but gave wrong information about transportation day pass being valid on the airport bus. When this was brought to light, no apology and, in fact, I was told that I should just go to the bus station and check for myself. Same answer when I asked about a particular tram route. I was repeatedly told "I'm too busy to talk to you - I have things I need to finish." Hello....part of your job is to provide local information to your CUSTOMERS.

The room and kitchen were certainly clean and the whole place was tidy. I was confused about numerous signs to "be green" and yet tons of toxic chemicals were used to clean - including junk in the toilet and whatever made the bathrooms smell!

Good location. I don't know how full they were but there seemed to be adequate space in the 'fridge and kitchen.

Room Tip: Be careful of being too close to the kitchen. I was right next door and it got really noisy. Front d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiderdorp, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I only stayed for one night at this hospital but it was an okay experience. The staff was very friendly en helped me get around Helsinki. The living room/kitchen was really beautiful, had comfortable seats and I met some great people during dinner. The location of the hostel is superb, in the morning I took the boat to Talinn and it was only a 5 min. walk to the port. The beds were comfortable but I woke really early caused by the noise coming from the street.

Room Tip: Pick a room which is not at the main street side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

i stayed at this hostel twice, location is outstanding and easy to find. The building is old and beautiful, and even though they are on the third floor, you can easily carry your backpack. They have a nice kitchen/living area that really feels like your own living area :) I met some wonderful people while making dinner, and we stayed in touch. People who work there are really nice and friendly and always cheerful.
I stayed in 4 bed female dormitory, we had enough space for all our stuff! Also, since you are situated in city center, just next street you can find awesome bars and some amazing art galleries. You can soak up the atmosphere just by looking at your dorm window (if lucky to be on that side:)
Also, showers are clean, the whole place is really tidy, you can buy coffee and breakfast, there's a computer with free internet if you forgot your tablet/laptop, free wi-fi and a book shelf ( I loved it) if you want to read, but, beware, its so fun in Helsinki and in hostel, you may not have the time to do so!
Also, they are recycling, that was a nice touch.
I strongly recommend this hostel if you want to buzz arround all thay and then go out in the evening, all the best clubs and attractions are at walking distance!
Hope to go there again soon :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariano Comense, Italia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We came visiting Helsinki and we decided to stay in Erottajanpuisto because of its position and we weren't disappointed about it, perfect for visiting. The staff was helpful but a bit cold, looked like they had always something better to do than listening to you (and they're probably right but it's part of your job :D) The kitchen was big and comfortable which to me it's a great plus, the rooms were fine but the bathroom needed to be renovated; I felt a lack of atmosphere, everyone was on his own and it is quite strange for an hostel. Anyway I think it's really hard to find a better cheap accomodation in Helsinki so I would recommend it without any doubt

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I loved the historical building, the kitchen and the sofa, this hostel is quite historical and valueble.

The beds are old and not comfortable I can say, but the batrooms are nice, showers strong, and positions of the hostle is perfect. And quite, no traffic by the windows. There is also internet, print service, and towel free.

I was so good here, thanks! I suggest to the boss to invest money is new beds, so it will be perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Erottajanpuisto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Erottajanpuisto

Address: Uudenmaankatu 9, Helsinki 00120, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Erottajanpuisto 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hostel Erottajanpuisto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Erottajanpuisto Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Erottajanpuisto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.