We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Log cabins a metro ride from the centre of Helsinki” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rastila Log Cottages

Rastila Log Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helsinki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Rastila Log Cottages
Save Saved
You added Rastila Log Cottages to your Saves list
Karavaanikatu 4, Helsinki 00980, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
preston lancs
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Log cabins a metro ride from the centre of Helsinki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We spent 2 nights in a family cabin (bedroom with twin beds and 2 more beds in lounge area) in early October 13 at a cost of £185 in total, pretty good value for Finland. The camp site is operated by the local authority and situated next to the Metro ration at Rastila, a 15 minute ride from Helsinki city centre. The cabins are spotless and well-equipped, beds very comfortable, red squirrels shared our breakfast pastries on the verandah. A lovely retreat from the bustle of a city holiday. There is supposed to be a restaurant on site but it didn't open the evenings we were there so don't rely on it out of season. A very good alternative to an expensive city centre hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was there with my friends for a couple of day and i really liked it there . we had a house with sauna, so we had a chance to relax. We had a car so we didn't bother with any transportation around. the place was nice and clean

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed in Rastila for 4 nights in December, 2012. We found our log cabin fantastic, the staff lovely and very willing to help, and all amenities very close. The kids loved the place, and we will definitely stay again if we are in Helsinki. Great place for families - clean, affordable and lots of fun. Great place to stay, particularly with kids as lots of room to play outside.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights in June 2010. We had never been to Finland before and were apprehensive with all the talk of moody silent Finns. However, we were very pleasantly surprised! Rastila is a very clean, peaceful and modern camping site with good shower facilities. The reception staff spoke good English and were very helpful. We hired bikes from reception and cycled round the nearby forests. We spent most days getting the highly reliable and efficient trains into Helsinki centre. The train stop is right beside the camp site and train services run on average every 5 mins into the centre. The bus also ran out to the campsite and we used the bus to get home after a few drinks! The last bus was at about 12.30am each night. We were glad we had picked the camp site rather than a city centre hotel as it meant we could combine city sight-seeing with the peacefulness of a great sleep in a cosy cabin at the end of the day. We stayed in a modern camping cabin which consists of one room with a double bed and a sofa bed, a fridge and a couple of tables. There is no wardrobe so we just folded our clothes on top of a table. Everything was new,clean and comfortable. We were able to buy food from a small supermarket at the front of the campsite and eat breakfast each morning on the private verandah at the front of the cabin. We would not recommend the campsite restaurant as the woman looked very scary and the menu did not look appealing! Overall, we would thoroughly recommend a trip to Rastila!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salerno, Italy
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

Great solution for families, cottages are clean and well equipped, metro is very close.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

The camping is very accessible and very clean, it's quiet and has a great beach and a lot of trees and fresh air. The stuff is very polite and helpful and we stayed there 9 days and I have absolutely no complaint. Oh, and the breakfast is simple and yummy ;) And you can also rent bikes from there, which is a very nice feature.

I would definitely recommend this camping!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

Although the campsite is close to big roads and the suburban train and is therefore convenient for Helsinki, it is also quite urban and there are some characters hanging around who were a bit seedy. There was security at the site - but in a tent you don't want to be in a place where you even NEED a security guard. The bathrooms were decent, if a little battered, the laundry facilities were just DAFT - you had to make a reservation for the machines - which took forever and were impenetrably difficult to operate - and expensive too. Perhaps in the cabins these things would be less of a concern. The desk people were friendly and helpful and it was certainly a bargain in Helsinki. But we've been to camp sites that were better - even near cities. There is some internet access but it is slow and expensive.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rastila Log Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rastila Log Cottages

Address: Karavaanikatu 4, Helsinki 00980, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Helsinki
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rastila Camping has a wide range of accommodation services, maintenance buildings, saunas, a beach and a restaurant. In the immediate vicinity are large shopping centres and plenty of opportunities for recreation. The metro, which stops nearby, ensures easy and quick access to attractions in Helsinki. Rastila Camping is open year round. Welcome to Rastila! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rastila Log Cottages Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rastila Log Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.