We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Helka Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Helka Hotel to your Saves list
Helka Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

We did a lot of research online but just not many hotels had availability in early August possibly due to a local conference. Helka Hotel was one of the few with availability but we had to settle for a more expensive suite on our first night and back to a normal room on the second.

Finding the hotel was not a difficult task at all. We took the shuttle bus right outside the Helsinki Vantaa Airport. We paid the driver (€6.9 per person) on the spot and the bus took us to the Central Station in 30 minutes. Following the road down the Forum Shopping centre, Helka Hotel was within our sight in 10 minutes.

Honestly, we were a little worried upon our arrival at the hotel. The exterior of the building looked rather old but we were pleasantly surprised when we saw our room. It was a nice clean suite with a bedroom and a totally separate living room. The bathroom has a private sauna room.

The hotel is conveniently located 5 minutes away from the Rock Church and only 10 minutes from the city centre. The breakfast buffet was great and the staff was very friendly. On our second day, we were too lazy to pack and unpack again to move into a smaller room (from the suite) so we called the reception. The gentleman there was kind enough to offer us the same suite with the normal room price. Very nice of him. Needless to say, we will definitely stay here if I ever visit Helsinki again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    239
    84
    17
    5
See reviews for
52
133
122
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
helsinki
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

I stayed in Helka in the beginning of August. I really have no complaints here. Everything was well organised and for the price I paid (summer rate) I would stay here again.
It is not luxury hotel, but everythings there; good bed, descent bathroom, extremely relaxed and friendly service plus nearly everything is included to the price like the breakfast.

I stayed in one of the rooms of the 3rd floor and it was small but I didn't need that much space since I was only staying for 3 days. And after all the room is just for sleeping, not hiding. This is friendly Helsinki at its best.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slovenija
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

LOCATION 2/10
stinking room 1/10
bathroom 2/10
Food 2/10
Staff 2/10
free internet in loby.
Damijan J. , Slovenija

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

Stayed here for 6 nights with my partner. Got a good deal on price via an external website and was pleasantly surprised when we arrived and got to our room... As it was a cheap deal and only a 3 star hotel we expected a poorer standard! Room 432, which we stayed in, was not huge but very adequate and comfortable enough for the two of us. Very unusual decor on the ceiling as it has a huge painting of Finnish landscape, but it was very pretty to look at when lay on the bed!!! The bathroom, although quite small, was very clean and the water was the right temperature - so no unpleasant surprises there! There was a mini-bar which had beers, soft drinks and snacks inside and was restocked daily by the cleaners if you used anything and prices for those were quite reasonable (you pay for those when checking out - cleaners record what you have used). Free TV although if you are English (like me!), you have to flick through the channels to find the English speaking channels as they change on a daily basis also. There were some English films on though, which I did not expect!

The only two negatives I would point out about the room is that the internet is not free of charge as advertised on the website, I think it cost about €8 per day. We didn't use the internet because of the cost (it wasn't worth paying €8 are there is free wireless in plenty of places nearby). There is also one computer in the reception area that is available for guests to use and has a quick connection, however users are limited to 15 minutes on the computer to allow for other guests who may be waiting to use it.

The other negative is that the air conditioning is not great; room 432 is on the side of the building where the sun shines onto most of the day (we had great weather whilst there, with sun for pretty much all 6 days), therefore the room got warm very quickly as soon as the sun was out to play. We thought the air con was broken as we were very hot when getting ready in the mornings and very hot when trying to get to sleep at night, but after speaking to reception and them promptly asking maintenance to check it out, it turns out that the air con was working and just isn't very good!

Breakfast was a buffet-type layout, not very clear where everything is and the layout could be a bit more 'user friendly', however the food we ate was fresh and yummy.

There is also a sauna available to use, but we didn't get chance to do this so therefore can't comment on how good or bad that is.

The hotel is in a great location, with most places being within a 10-15 minute walk. We regularly walked down to the marina area by the sea and chilled out there as it was such gorgeous weather. Plenty of places to eat within a short walking distance too (we didn't eat lunch or dinner at the hotel). The main shopping centre is again, only about 10 minutes walk away and has lots of bars and restaurants as well as shops.

The hotel also kindly arranged for an airport taxi to take us back from the hotel to the airport - we requested it the night before we had to check out and this is recommended as arranging it the same morning can be difficult if the hotel staff are busy checking new arrivals in. The airport taxi took about 30 minutes and only cost €25 for 2 people, so €12.50 each, bargain!

Going back to Helsinki in the future I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

My husband and I spent five nights at Hotel Helka and were very pleased with the value - the room was spacious, clean and nicely decorated, the sauna was clean and nice and the breakfast was fantastic. The location was good and the staff were helpful too; our only complaint would be that the wired internet in the room was a bit slow. The wireless was OK though so no worries!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huelva, Spain
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

I booked this hotel after sending an email to them asking for discount for a week stay in a single room. They answered quickly ( showing profesionalism and giving me a sense of trust in them) and offered me rather competitive rates so I decided to go there. Located in the centre of Helsinki, a couple of minutes walk to the central train station, this hotel offers good quality for medium price.

My single room was spacious enough, clean and with all the amenities you will find in a four star hotel: satellite tv, minibar, internet, ... The only drawback about the room was the bathroom which clearly needs an improvement since it seems a bit old and it doesn´t match with the nice Finninsh design of the room. But in the overall it was a very confortable room and the decor was nice.
Breakfast was average, baltic oriented. Many things but not many delicious things for a Spanish. A right coffee maker would be nice as well, since the factory coffee they serve is a sort of dark water. I enjoyed the good selection of breads they offer for toast. Waiters were very helpful also.
Try the sauna !!!!!
Well summing up I think that this hotel is safe bet in Helsinki and when coming again I will stay in this hotel again

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

Was a bit daunted when I saw the exterior of the hotel, but was delighted when we got to our room. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
The only issue I had with the hotel was the internet connection wasn't reliable.
Overall I would thouroughly recommend the Hotel

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Helka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helka Hotel

Address: Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Helka Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual Elegance inspired by Finnish Design and Nature! Only 250 metres from Kamppi Metro Station, privately owned Hotel Helka offers 150 functional rooms, fine dining and a cozy street bar. All the rooms have design furniture and a strong sense of Finnish nature. All of the rooms have air-cooling system, minibars and flat-screen TVs. Breakfast buffet, use of Sauna and WiFi connection are complimentary for all guests. Hotel Helka is housed in a refurbished 1920s building. The bright rooms feature decor by Artek and other well-known Finnish design brands and designers. Helkan Keittio Restaurant serves Finnish cuisine based on fresh, locally sourced ingredients such as fish, game, mushrooms and berries. Guests can enjoy drinks and snacks in Helka’s trendy Lobby Bar, which also features a cigar room. Helka’s central location provides easy access to shopping, dining and culture. Helsinki Central Station is 10 minute walk away. Welcome to the Heart of Helsinki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Helka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helka Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helka Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.