We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Helka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Helka to your Saves list
Hotel Helka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #12 of 62 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki
1 review
“Nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Friendly service, nice accommadation, fine breakfast. A Super location!!! We stayed in Helka after a big (economy room) dissapointment in Anttolanhovi. Helka is cheap, good and in the heart of Helsinki. Very nice!


  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    290
    98
    19
    5
See reviews for
62
164
155
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I spent one night in Helka. There wasn't air conditioning but ventilator in the room. Normally you don't need air conditioning in Finland but this summer it was uncommonly hot. Anyway, I didn't suffer the hotness.
Single room was very basic with comfortable bed, desk and chair. It's okey for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Having spent many hours searching for a mid price 'Finnish design' hotel, we booked a deluxe double room and a standard single at Hotel Helka for a five night stay. We have just returned from our holiday here and so here is an outline of our experience. On arrival from the airport we walked to the hotel from the central railway station, but got a little lost at one point in the mile long underpass that runs from the Kiasma gallery square to outside the hotel - a little diconcerting at night time for travellers. Keep to the roads/pedestrian walkways heading to Kampii to get there safely and more quickly. On arrival, the reception staff were efficient and the Finnish style was apparent in the decor. The walls and the lift doors are decoprated in forest photo murals on each floor which was a quirky touch as we exited the lift to our rooms. The deluxe double room viewed out onto the street on the sixth floor and was adequate although there was a distinct lack of hanging space and hangers. The walk in shower was good and the bed comfortable. The single standard room on the forth floor looked out into the central service space of the hotel and was very very tiny!! Single travellers you have been warned.... The air con did not work in the double room and we had to have the window open as Helsinki was in the middle of a heat wave. The noise from the road made it difficult to sleep but at least we were a little cooler. The breakfast was adequate but lacked choice for veggies which was expected. We stayed for dinner once but found it expensive for the quality of the food offered. A few doors down there was the excellent Fafa's which reputedly sells the best falafals in Helsinki and open until 5 am Fridays and Saturdays...we agreed that they were delicious!. The hotel is very close to Kampii shopping area where the hop on hop off bus tours pick up/set down from. Recommended for first day to get orientated and you get to see the Olympic stadium, harbour, marina etc. It was an easy route through Kampii area to get to the central railway square or Senate square near the marina and the harbour market. If you wanted to be nearer the old town and the beautiful Merisatana coastal area I would recommend another hotel as it took about 40minutes to walk to this area from Helka. The highlights of our stay were the boat trips around the Islands, Cafe Ursula on the Merisatana coastal area, the flea market and the Tram Pub which takes you for 40min tour around Helsinki. A wonderful time in Helsinki especially with the heatwave felt more like holidaying in the med! Would come again to see more of the design museums and galleries but would probably stay in a different hotel maybe Hotel Glo. Finnair was a great choice for our flights.. lots of leg room, complimentary drinks and sandwiches and art gallery space for waiting to board for return flight.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I recently spent 3 nights in this hotel, and while I essentially approve, there are three basic things they should sort out:

1. It says on their website that they have air-conditioning. They do not.
We booked this hotel with the heat-wave in Finland (July 2014) in mind, and when we got there we found our tiny room as hot as a baker's oven. We arrived late and thought that the ac dial on the wall just needed adjustment and the ac needed some time to "cool the room down," but nothing happened. By around 2.45am, my smartphone read the temperature to 29.9c.
We basically didn't sleep that night!
We explained this to the concierge, whom admitted that it is not an AC, but a "ventilation system." Fine, but don't say that you have AC when you don't...
We were offered a free upgrade to premium room (20EUR worth), which we appreciated. This room was better as it faced the courtyard and the "ventilation" seemed to work better there.

2. They have diabolical coffee. If all else fails, make sure you serve good coffee!!
I am Scandinavian myself, and accustomed to all sorts of coffee, from the bitter tar that people sweeten with sugar, the filter-drip juice of the canteens to the strong heart-attack inducing cafetieres of the more open-minded. But this was just terrible.

3. Their pillows are horrible. Imagine the cheapest IKEA pillows, with balls of polyester rumbling around. Not cool.

On the bright side, it has modern decoration, free Wifi, it is (mostly, apart from some scary hairs) clean, and has a jolly breakfast room. Not to all tastes, definitely very "Nordic", but healthy and decent. And it is conveniently located.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, chose a premium room and make sure you face the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I have visited hotel Helka many times during the last years. The staff is always very friendly. The rooms are comfortable and the style is very Finnish. I can highly recommend the hotel. The breakfast is good. Also dinner can be recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I had chosen the Helka Hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews but it exceeded my expections. The staff are attentive to making your stay as enjoyable as possible. I spent 4 days at the start of 2 months in Europe and returned for my last night. On my return the temperature was 30+ and the air conditioner had been turned on in my room before my arrival.
The design features in the room which made a small room seem large could have keep me indoors appreciating them if Helsinki was not such a beautiful city. I loved lying in bed looking up at the huge canvas of a Finland landscape.
I walked everywhere from this hotel. There is a pedestrian walkway in from of the hotel which leads you almost to the train station, bus station and Finnair bus to the airport. I even managed this walk with all my luggage.
I travel extensively and have stayed in numerous deluxe hotels, but the Helka is now my favourite hotel. Thank goodness I also loved Finnair so I will be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Belka is within walking distance from the central bus station (one of trashiest I have seen) and attractions. Don't be fooled by its unattractive exterior and lobby, as the room interior is much better - clean, efficient and thoughtful. (I would not pick the reverse.) I was able to walk to most attractions without even taking transit in the four days in Helsinki. Staff was helpful and knowledgeable. Breakfast was nutritious and varied. And the price is right!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Scandic Paasi
#3 of 62 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
GLO Hotel Art
#14 of 62 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#1 of 62 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 731 reviews
Klaus K Hotel
#10 of 62 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helka

Address: Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helka 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual Elegance inspired by Finnish Design and Nature! Only 250 metres from Kamppi Metro Station, privately owned Hotel Helka offers 150 functional rooms, fine dining and a cozy street bar. All the rooms have design furniture and a strong sense of Finnish nature. All of the rooms have air-cooling system, minibars and flat-screen TVs. Breakfast buffet, use of Sauna and WiFi connection are complimentary for all guests. Hotel Helka is housed in a refurbished 1920s building. The bright rooms feature decor by Artek and other well-known Finnish design brands and designers. Helkan Keittio Restaurant serves Finnish cuisine based on fresh, locally sourced ingredients such as fish, game, mushrooms and berries. Guests can enjoy drinks and snacks in Helka’s trendy Lobby Bar, which also features a cigar room. Helka’s central location provides easy access to shopping, dining and culture. Helsinki Central Station is 10 minute walk away. Welcome to the Heart of Helsinki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Odigeo, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Helka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helka Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Helka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.